June International Tours

O’Driscoll retains Ireland captaincy


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Brian O’Driscoll has been named Captain of the Ireland squad for the upcoming Guinness Series against Canada in Thomond Park on November 8 and versus New Zealand and Argentina in Croke Park on November 15 and 22 respectively.

The 85 times capped, 29 years old, who has already captained Ireland on over 40 occasions, heads a squad of 41 players, who assemble for a week’s training in Limerick next Monday.

At the conclusion of that camp, the Ireland squad will be reduced to approximately 30 players, from which the 22-man squad to play Canada will be named.

New Ireland coach Declan Kidney said: “I am delighted that Brian has agreed to Captain the squad for the Guinness Series 2008.


“I have also opted to name a bigger squad than originally anticipated so that we can continue to familiarise a largely new-look backroom staff with a wider group of players.


“Our games assume additional importance this year considering their significance as regards our seeding position going into the World Cup 2011 draw being made in December.


“We are currently ranked 8th – just ahead of Scotland – so the fact that it is paramount to at least maintain a Top 8 ranking, underlines the additional importance of our results against Canada, New Zealand and Argentina.”


Ireland Squad,

Backs: Tommy Bowe (Ospreys),Ian Dowling (Shannon – Munster),Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College – Leinster),Gavin Duffy (Galwegians – Connacht),Keith Earls (Young Munster – Munster),Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College – Leinster),Shane Horgan (Boyne – Leinster),Robert Kearney (UCD – Leinster),Geordan Murphy (Leicester),Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians – Munster),Brian O’Driscoll (UCD – Leinster) Captain, Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution – Munster).Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin – Munster),Eoin Reddan (Wasps),Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College – Leinster),Peter Stringer (Shannon – Munster),Andrew Trimble (Ballymena – Ulster),Paddy Wallace (Ballymena – Ulster)

Forwards: Rory Best (Banbridge – Ulster),Tony Buckley (Shannon – Munster),Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon – Ulster),Bob Casey (London Irish),Tom Court (Malone – Ulster),Stephen Ferris (Dungannon – Ulster),Jerry Flannery (Shannon – Munster),John Hayes (Shannon – Munster),Cian Healy (Clontarf – Leinster),Jamie Heaslip (Naas – Leinster),Marcus Horan (Shannon – Munster),Bernard Jackman (Clontarf – Leinster),Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College – Leinster),Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution – Munster),Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution – Munster),Paul O’Connell (Young Munster – Munster),Malcolm O’Kelly (St. Mary’s College – Leinster),Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster),Alan Quinlan (Shannon – Munster),Michael Ross (Harlequins),Donncha Ryan (Shannon – Munster),David Wallace (Garryowen – Munster),Roger Wilson (Northampton)



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.