Super Rugby

2017 Super Rugby Final Match Officials




SANZAAR have released the officials for the 2017 Super rugby final which is on Saturday this weekend on Saturday in Johannesburg where the Lions host the Crusaders.

South African referee Jaco Peyper will be in charge of the Super Rugby final.

SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos explained the rationale behind the decisions: “SANZAAR congratulates Jaco Peyper and all the match officials selected to this year’s final.

“The match official selection is never easy as we have a very dedicated group of officials who week in week out perform very professionally and to very high standards.

“The selection criteria for all match official appointments for the last two years follows a clear tournament policy – as agreed by the SANZAAR executive committee and the tournament’s stakeholders – that such appointments be merit-based.

“This policy is written into the tournament protocols and appointments are made according to this policy on a weekly basis and is also the policy used for the finals last year as well as this year.

“This merit-based policy was reflected in the appointment last year of New Zealand referee Glen Jackson to referee the Hurricanes v Lions final in Wellington. SANZAAR stands behind the policy and believes the best referees should be available to officiate the best matches,” added Marinos.

Either the Lions or the Crusaders will be crowned 2017 Super Rugby champions.

Match: Lions v Crusaders
Date: Saturday 05 August 2017
Venue: Emirates Park Stadium, Johannesburg
Kick Off local: 16.00
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2: Marius van der Westhuizen
TMO: Marius Jonker

Recommended for you


  1. Pingback: You Had One Job! | rugbyoldbloke blog

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.