Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

2019 Super Rugby Quarter-finals confirmed

Fireworks light up Yarrow Stadium for a Super rugby match

Fireworks light up Yarrow Stadium for a Super rugby match

The quarter-finals for the 2019 Super Rugby tournament have now been determined following the completion of the 18 rounds of the regular season.

The Crusaders finished the regular season in first place with 58 points; the Jaguares finished in second place with 51 points and the Brumbies third with 48 points.

The Hurricanes finished the regular season with 53 points, and all four of these teams have earned a home Super Rugby quarter-final.

As the Crusaders finished in the top spot, they will play their matches at home in Christchurch unless they lose and are eliminated.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Should the Crusaders lose, then the final will be hosted by the team with the next highest place in the final standings of the regular season.

These top four teams will all play home matches next weekend against the four next best wildcard teams (based on tournament points) regardless of conference.

The format is as follows.

Team 1 v Team 8
Team 2 v Team 7
Team 3 v Team 6
Team 4 v Team 5

Therefore the draw for the quarter-finals is determined as follows

Super Rugby quarter-final draw

(all times are local)

Fri 21 June @ 19.35
Quarter-final 1
Crusaders(1) v  AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Fri 21 June @ 19.05 Quarter-final 3 Jaguares (2) v Chiefs (7) Estadio José Amalfitani, Buenos Aires
Sat 22 June @ 19.35
Quarter-final 2
Hurricanes (4)
Bulls (5) Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Sat 22 June @ 20.05
Quarter-final 4
Brumbies (3) v Sharks (6) GIO Stadium, Canberra

Following the quarter-finals, the semi-finals will be as follows. Pre-determined draw as follows (highest ranked team to host):

Super Rugby semi-final draw

Super Rugby semi-final 1
Winner QF 1
Winner QF 2
Super Rugby semi-final 2
Winner QF 3
Winner QF 4

The draw for the 2019 Super Rugby final will be as follows

Super Rugby final

Super Rugby grand final
Winner Super Rugby semi-final 1
Winner Super Rugby semi-final 2


Finals Matches – Tiebreaking Criteria:

If the teams are tied at full time in any finals series match, then the following will apply until a winner is found:

Extra Time: played in two 10 minute periods with a two-minute halftime
Sudden Death: played for up to 10 minutes with the first team to score declared the winner
Kicking Competition: If no result comes from the sudden-death period a goal kicking competition will decide the winner

Exit mobile version