June International Tours

France beat All Blacks for historic victory



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


France beat the All Blacks 22-27 in the opening test at Dunedin for a historic French victory at the house of pain.


Carisbrook, Dunedin otherwise known as the House of Pain, has become something of a bad luck ground for the All Blacks as their last test at the venue was against the Springboks and they lost that one too.


At no point in the match were the French behind the All Blacks on the scoreboard and even managed to outscore the All Blacks by three tries to two.


The French went almost straight out to a 3-17 lead after they scored the opening two tries. The All Blacks however struck after the hooter for half time with a try that went unconverted.

In the second half France failed to add to their first half points tally until the final quarter as the All Blacks mounted a steady comeback which brought them level with France.

Trinh-Duc’s penalty put the French into the lead with around 14 minutes remaining. The French then picked up an intercept pass from Luke McAlister and Medard was able to run away for a converted try under the posts which gave the French a 10 point lead.

The French broke their highest ever points tally in a test in New Zealand when they scored the 27th point.


Ma’a Nonu scored a try with five minutes remaining but the All Blacks could not overcome their first half points deficit.

Saturday’s defeat was only the fifth loss in 36 tests for the All Blacks at Carisbrook.

While New Zealand were missing a number of players due to injury France had chosen to rest all of their players who participated in the Top 14 last weekend.

The teams meet again next Saturday in Wellington.

Final Score New Zealand 22 (11) France 27 (17)


New Zealand
Tries -Messam, Nonu
Penalties – Donald 4
Conversions – Donald

Tries -Trinh-Duc,Servat ,Medard
Penalties – Dupuy 2
Conversions – Dupuy 2


New Zealand: Mils Muliaina (captain), Joe Rokocoko, Isaia Toeava, Ma’a Nonu, Cory Jane, Stephen Donald, Jimmy Cowan, Liam Messam, Adam Thomson, Kieran Read, Isaac Ross, Brad Thorn, Neemia Tialata, Andrew Hore, Tony Woodcock.

Reserves: Keven Mealamu, John Afoa, Bryn Evans, Tanerau Latimer, Piri Weepu, Luke McAlister, Lelia Masaga.


France : Maxime Medard, Vincent Clerc, Mathieu Bastareaud, Damien Traille, Cedric Heymans, Francois Trinh-Duc, Julien Dupuy; Louis Picamoles, Fulgence Ouedraogo, Thierry Dusautoir (captain), Romain Millo-Chluski, Pascal Pape, Sylvain Marconnet, William Servat, Fabien Barcella.

Reserves: Dimitri Szarzewski, Nicolas Mas, Sebastien Chabal, Julien Puricelli, Dimitri Yachvili, Yannick Jauzion, Alexis Palisson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.