South Africa Springboks Rugby News

Emerging Springboks team to play Lions




Emerging Springboks rugby coach Dick Muir named six Blue Bulls players in his match 22 squad who will face the touring British & Irish Lions at Newlands on Tuesday.


The Blue Bulls front rowers, Werner Kruger (prop) and Bandise Maku (hooker) are two of the five Bulls players in the starting XV.


The others are captain and flanker Dewald Potgieter, lock Wilhelm Steenkamp and full back Zane Kirchner, while scrumhalf Heini Adams finds himself on the substitutes’ bench.


The Western Province flanker Duane Vermeulen, who has strong claims to Springbok selection on the strength his excellent Super 14 season, will pack down at No 8, with Jean Deysel (Sharks) and Potgieter completing the loose trio.


Lions flyhalf Earl Rose, who has been training with the Springbok squad, was named at flyhalf and he will also be responsible for the kicking duties.


The Emerging Springboks team to play British and Irish Lions in Cape Town on Tuesday.


Emerging Springboks

15. Zane Kirchner ( Blue Bulls) 14. Luzuko Vulindlu (The Sharks) 13. Deon van Rensburg (Platinum Leopards) 12. Morgan Newman ( Western Province) 11. Bjorn Basson (GWK Griquas) 10. Earl Rose (Xerox Golden Lions) 9. Jano Vermaak (Xerox Golden Lions) 8. Duane Vermeulen ( Western Province) 7. Jean Deysel (The Sharks) 6. Dewald Potgieter (c) ( Blue Bulls) 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ( Blue Bulls) 4. Steven Sykes (The Sharks) 3. Werner Kruger ( Blue Bulls) 2. Bandise Maku ( Blue Bulls) 1. Wian du Preez ( Free State Cheetahs)

Reserves: 16. Tiaan Liebenberg ( Western Province) 17. Pat Cilliers (The Sharks) 18. Franco van der Merwe (Xerox Golden Lions) 19. Jacques Botes (The Sharks) 20. Heini Adams ( Blue Bulls) 21. Willem de Waal ( Western Province) 22. Danwel Demas ( Free State Cheetahs).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.