June International Tours

Lievremont makes seven changes to France



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


France coach Marc Lievremont has made seven changes to the French team that will face Argentina in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Bayonne centre Lionel Mazars makes his international debut while Perpignan full-back Jerome Porical starts a Test for the first time.

In their last outing on June 12, Six Nations champions France were soundly beaten 42-17 by world champions South Africa.

France picked up the pace with a convincing win over Argentina A last Friday but Lievremont has not hidden his disappointment with the performance in Cape Town by ringing the changes among the backs.

Apart from the introduction of Mazars and Porical for Maxime Mermoz and Clement Poitrenaud respectively, Lievremont has also replaced the other centre David Marty with Florian Fritz while wing Aurelien Rougerie drops to the bench to make way for Clermont teammate Julien Malzieu.

“We were pretty disappointed by a number of the three quarters (against South Africa). The Fritz-Mazars centre pairing deserved a chance to show us what they can do at this higher level.

“Jerome Porical and Julien Malzieu played very well on Friday (against Argentina A) with lots of vigour and enthusiasm”, said Lievremont who retains the half-back combination of Morgan Parra and Francois Trinh-Duc.

He has made three changes in the pack, one of them enforced by the injury to back row forward Wenceslas Lauret.

Louis Picamoles comes in at number eight with Julien Bonnaire moving to the flank.

Prop Thomas Domingo is replaced by Toulouse loosehead Fabien Barcella while Stade Francais lock comes in for Romain Millo-Chluski.

“The forwards, notably Thomas and Romain are paying a little bit now for a very long season,” said Lievremont.

Team (15-1)

Jerome Porical (Perpignan); Vincent Clerc (Toulouse), Florian Fritz (Toulouse), Lionel Mazars (Bayonne), Julien Malzieu (Clermont); Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Morgan Parra (Clermont); Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Julien Bonnaire (Clermont), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, cap), Lionel Nallet (Racing-Metro), Pascal Pape (Stade Francais), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais), Fabien Barcella (Biarritz)

Replacements: Guillem Guirado (Perpignan), Jean-Baptiste Poux (Toulouse), Julien Pierre (Clermont), Gregory Lamboley (Toulouse), Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz), David Skrela (Toulouse), Aurelien Rougerie (Clermont)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.