South Africa Springboks Rugby News

Brits the ‘leading’ Emerging Bok



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Stormers and Western Province hooker Schalk Brits will captain the South African Emerging team to face hosts Romania in the first round of the 2007 International Rugby Board (IRB) Nations Cup tournament in Bucharest on Tuesday.

The SA Emerging team, which includes six Springboks in the starting line-up and two more full internationals amongst the replacements, will play the feature match of the day at 19.00 (18.00 SA time; 16.00 GMT).

Coach Peter de Villiers has selected a formidable team, with Springboks Bevin Fortuin (Cheetahs, fullback), Jaco Pretorius (Lions, utility back), Tonderai Chavhanga (Stormers, wing), Kabamba Floors (Cheetahs, loose forward), Solly Tyibilika (Lions, flank) and Eddie Andrews (Stormers, prop) in the starting line-up.

Tyibilika, who almost lost his national and Lions contracts because he repeatedly failed to turn up at practice sessions, and Chavhanga, who has had a run of injuries, have played very little rugby this year.

Former Springbok Sevens captain Promising Jonathan Mokuena has also had very little game time in the 15-man code and will also be keen to make an impression.

Teams competing in the tournament are allowed to have all their players who are not in the run-on team on the bench, but may use only seven substitutes.

The two Boks on the bench are Cheetahs utility back Meyer Bosman and fiery Bulls loose forward Hilton Lobberts.

IRB Nations Cup Fixtures:
(All game are in Bucharest – kick-off times are local, GMT + three hours)

5 June:
Italy A vs Argentina A – 15.00
Georgia vs Namibia – 17.00
Emerging Springboks vs Romania – 19.00

10 June:
Argentina A vs Namibia – 15.00
Georgia vs Emerging Springboks – 17.00
Italy A vs Romania – 19.00

16 June:
Italy A vs Georgia – 15.00
Romania vs Namibia – 17.00
Argentina A vs Emerging Springboks – 19.00

Emerging Springboks: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Bradley Barritt, 11 Tonderai Chavhanga, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Jonathan Mokuena, 7 Solly Tyibilika, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Eddie Andrews, 2 Schalk Brits (captain), 1 Heinke van der Merwe
Replacements (from): Jano Vermaak, Meyer Bosman, Louis Ludik, Marius Delport, Ashton Constant, Sangoni Mxoli, Nikolai Blignaut, Ernst Joubert, Hilton Lobberts, Howard Noble, Bandisa Maku


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.