South Africa Springboks Rugby News

Emerging Springboks sink Georgia


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Emerging Springboks’ tilt at the IRB Nations Cup title continued apace following a solid 24-7 victory over Georgia at the Arcul de Triumf stadium in Bucharest on Sunday.

Marius Delport scored a hat-trick of tries, but the South Africans were rattled by the Georgian tackling in an impressive defensive effort from start to finish.

Georgia, who like the Emerging Springboks enjoyed a victory in their opening match, were very hard and committed up front, although their fly-half Merab Kvirikashvili also impressed with an excellent kicking game.

But it was the Emerging Springboks who led 14-7 at half-time in the day’s second match, with a penalty try for Georgia sandwiched between two of Delport’s tries with Kvirikashvili and Peter Grant converting them respectively.

Delport completed his hat-trick after the break with Grant converting the try and then kicking a penalty against a Georgian side who had two players sin-binned in the match – lock Levan Datunashvili and replacement George Jenti.

The Emerging Springboks, who beat Romania 61-7 in their opening match, though missed out on a bonus point for scoring four tries and so trail defending champions Argentina A by a point at the top of the standings.

Next up for Georgia is an encounter with Italy A in the opening match of the final day on Saturday, while the Emerging Springboks face Argentina A in the finale which will determine the IRB Nations Cup 2007 champion.

The scorers:

For Emerging Springboks:
Tries: Delport 3
Cons: Grant 3
Pen: Grant

For Georgia:
Try: Penalty Try
Con: Kvirikashvili

Yellow card(s): Datunashvili (Geo), George Jgenti (Geo).

The teams:

Emerging Springboks: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 Marius Delport, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Howard Noble, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Jonathan Mokuena (captain), 6 Solly Tyibilika, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Nikolai Blignaut, 3 Mxoli Songoni, 2 Ashton Constant, 1 Bandise Maku.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heine van der Merwe, 18 Eddie Andrews, 19 Ross Skeate, 20 Lucas Floors, 21 Heini Adams, 22 Tonderai Chavhanga, 23 Odwa Ndungane, 24 Jaco Pretorius, 25 Bradley Barritt, 26 Hilton Lobberts.

Georgia: 15 Malkhaz Urjukashvili, 14 Girogi Shkinin, 13 Revaz Gigauri, 12 David Kacharava, 11 Otar Eloshvili, 10 Merab Kvirikashvili, 9 Bidzina Samkharadze, 8 Giorgi Chkhaidze, 7 Rati Shalva Urushadze, 6 Ilia Maisuradze, 5 Levan Datunashvili, 4 Zurab Mchedlishvili (captain) 3 Elizbar Kuparadze, 2 Irakli Chkonia, 1 David Khinchagashvili.
Replacements: 16 A N Other, 17 Georgi Jgenti, 18 David Dadunashvili, 19 Viktor Didebulidze, 20 Irakli Abuseridze, 21 Davit Gurgenidze, 22 Otar Barkalaia, 23 Besiki Khamashuridze, 24 Shalva Sutiashvili, 25 Zviad Maisuradze, 26 Mamuka Magrakvelidze.

With thanks to the IRB & 365 Digital

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.