Rugby Championship News

All Blacks bring in Mo’unga for Barrett against Springboks




All Blacks head coach Ian Foster has named his side for the second Rugby Championship Test against South Africa at Ellis Park Stadium with Richie Mo’unga replacing Beauden Barrett.

Underfire Foster has been forced into several changes after New Zealand’s hammering at the hands of the World Champion Springboks in Mbombela.

The Boks won 26-10 in one of the most convincing displays against the Kiwis since England mauled the three-time former World Champions in the 2019 World Cup semi-final.

Foster has tried to bulk up his pack after the Boks bullied and battered his charges in Nelspruit’s drubbing. The defeat was South Africa’s second-biggest winning margin versus the Kiwis since 1928 when New Zealand lost 17-0 at Kings Park in Durban.

Uncapped tighthead prop Fletcher Newell has been introduced to the match-day 23 as front row cover, while props Ethan de Groot and Tyrel Lomax have been named in the run-on side.

They are joined by hooker Samisoni Taukeiaho, while 69-Test veteran Codie Taylor returns to the match-day 23 as cover.

Blindside flanker Shannon Frizell has also been moved into the run-on side after being used as an impact player during the first Test in Mbombela, marking his 14th appearance in the number six jersey.

In the back row, he is joined by Ardie Savea and captain Sam Cane, who will surpass Jerome Kaino (81) as the third-most capped All Blacks loose forward.

The only change made to the backline is at first-five eighths. Mo’unga will run out in the number 10 jersey for the first time this season, as he closes in on Carlos Spencer (291) for sixth place on the All Blacks’ all-time points-scoring list.

“Belief and confidence remain high in our group, which is working incredibly hard this week,” said Foster. “Playing at Ellis Park is always a special occasion for any All Black team, and this weekend will be no different.

“Adding to that, the Freedom Cup is on the line which makes this a challenge that everyone is looking forward to.”

New Zealand

15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Ethan de Groot

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 George Bower, 18 Fletcher Newell, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Quinn Tupaea

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.