Rugby Championship News

All Blacks v Pumas Rugby Championship Preview





Out of the last six Rugby Championship between New Zealand’s All Blacks and Argentina’s Pumas the New Zealanders have won all six.

Overall the All Blacks have played the Pumas 20 times since 1985 and the All Blacks have won 19 tests.

The only time that the All Blacks did not beat Argentina was in 1985 – the second test between the nations – and they drew 21 all in Buenos Aires.

That gives New Zealand a record of winning 95% of their matches against Argentina. The average score when New Zealand play Argentina is : New Zealand 41 Argentina 13.

This weekend’s Rugby Championship match will be played in Christchurch so New Zealand will have home advantage.

New Zealand have had home advantage over Argentina in the Rugby Championship on three occasions. All three matches have been won by New Zealand with an average score of : New Zealand 29 Argentina 9.

The All Blacks have actually had home advantage over Argentina on 11 occasions and they have won all 11 with an average score of New Zealand 48 Argentina 11.

Just one match out of the 11 was played in Christchurch but this was at the former Jade Stadium and this was New Zealand’s third biggest home victory at 67-19. (the biggest was in Wellington 93-8).

New Zealand have only played one Test so far this year and that was 16-25 victory over Samoa last week in Apia. The All Blacks played that match without any players from the Hurricanes and Highlanders who contested the Super Rugby final and only Waisake Naholo has been included for this week.

The All Black side is still not a full strength side as Super Rugby finalists Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Malakai Fekitoa, Dane Coles and Conrad Smith are all still being rested.

Argentina have yet to play a full test and have named youngster Facundo Isa, Guido Petti and Santiago Cordero in their line up for this week. They will be playing away from home and starting cold which means the odds are really against them.

The All Blacks will play two matches on New Zealand soil ahead of the Rugby World Cup. This match will be their only home match in the Rugby Championship as the second test will be a Bledisloe Cup test against Australia and is not part of the Rugby Championship.

The Bookies have given Argentina a 26 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The All Blacks will be frustrated by their performance last week. Most of the players will have a point to prove having missed out on the Super Rugby Grand final with a world cup so close. New Zealand should win by 17.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1/HD.

Average score: New Zealand 41 Argentina 13

Last six results
Sat, 27 Sep 2014 New Zealand v Argentina 34-13 La Plata
Sat, 06 Sep 2014 New Zealand v Argentina 28-9 Napier
Sat, 28 Sep 2013 New Zealand v Argentina 33-15 La Plata
Sat, 07 Sep 2013 New Zealand v Argentina 28-13 Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Sat, 29 Sep 2012 New Zealand v Argentina 54-15 La Plata
Sat, 08 Sep 2012 New Zealand v Argentina 21-5 Westpac Stadium Wellington

New Zealand overall record against Argentina
Played 20 , Wins 19, Losses 0, Draws 1

Match No.1:New Zealand v Argentina
Date : Friday 17 July 2015
Venue : AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick Off : 19:35 NZST, 04:35 ART, 07:35 GMT, 09:35 SAST, 17:35 AEST
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Stuart Berry
TMO : George Ayoub


New Zealand

1. Tony Woodcock , 2. Keven Mealamu , 3. Owen Franks , 4. Luke Romano , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Jerome Kaino , 7. Richie McCaw (c) , 8. Kieran Read , 9. TJ Perenara , 10. Daniel Carter , 11. Charles Piutau , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Ma’a Nonu , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements:16. Codie Taylor , 17. Wyatt Crockett , 18. Nepo Laulala , 19. Jeremy Thrush , 20. Liam Messam , 21. Andy Ellis , 22. Colin Slade , 23. Ryan Crotty


Joaquin Tuculet, Horacio Agulla, Marcelo Bosch, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Santiago Cordero; Nicolas Sanchez, Tomas Cubelli, Facundo Isa, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Manuel Leguizamon; Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Manuel Carizza; Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (captain), Marcos Ayerza.

Replacements: Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Benjamin Macome, Javier Ortega Desio, Martin Landajo, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.