Currie Cup

All systems go for Currie Cup



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

South Africa’s premier domestic rugby competition – the Currie Cup kicks off on Friday afternoon with a new look when the Boland Cavaliers hosts the Platinum Leopards in Wellington in the first match of the Premier Division.

And to mark the occasion SA Rugby and Absa have launched a new logo to renew the identity of Absa’s long-standing sponsorship of South Africa’s 118-year Currie Cup.

“Absa is confident that the new identity will reflect the nature of rugby in South Africa as it is today, as the logo captures the emotion, professionalism and energy of the current game.” said Bronwen Rautenbach.

Eight teams – Boland Cavaliers, GWK Griquas, Platinum Leopards, The Sharks, Blue Bulls, Free State Cheetahs and Western Province and the Lions, will battle it out for domestic rugby’s most important prize in the Premier Division competition.

In the Currie Cup First Division, the Border Bulldogs, Griffons, Mighty Elephants, Pumas, SWD Eagles and the Valke are the competing teams in this competition.

South African Rugby Union President Mr Oregan Hoskins said that the Currie Cup would always remain one of the top rugby prizes in world rugby and believed that the 2009 competition would thrill and entertain rugby fans during the next few months.”

“Over the years, there have been many developments to the Currie Cup.”

“But this competition is still regarded as the cornerstone of South Africa’s rugby heritage, and the coveted gold trophy remains the most prestigious prize in South African domestic rugby,” said Mr Hoskins.

“All teams competing in this year’s Currie Cup, be it in the Premier Division or First Division competitions, will no doubt be out make their local and loyal supporters proud.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.