Rugby Championship News

Argentina make four changes for Australia




Argentina head coach Daniel Hourcade has named a Pumas team with four changes to the side for this weekend’s historic Rugby Championship match against Australia at Twickenham in London.

The match will be the first time a Rugby Championship match has been played at Twickenham or outside of a traditional Sanzaar country. It is also a rematch of last year’s Rugby World Cup Semi-final.

Hourcade has included Nicolas Sanchez and Manuel Montero despite them being in some discomfort and they will both face late fitness Tests.

Leonardo Senatore comes into the starting line up replacing Facundo Isa who has been in impressive form of late but has not recovered from a hip injury.

Also in the forwards Lucas Noguera comes into the starting side replacing Nahuel Tetaz.

In the backs Matias Moroni moves from centre to the wing replacing Santiago Cordero and although Manuel Montero faces a fitness test he has been named to start on the wing in place of Ramiro Moyano who is benched.

Santiago García Botta has been named on the replacements bench and if he comes on he will make his Rugby Championship debut. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino is on standby in case Montero fails the fitness test in which case Moyano will start.


1. Lucas Noguera , 2. Agustín Creevy (c) , 3. Ramiro Herrera , 4. Guido Petti , 5. Matías Alemanno , 6. Pablo Matera , 7. Javier Ortega Desio , 8. Leonardo Senatore , 9. Martín Landajo , 10. Nicolás Sánchez * , 11. Manuel Montero * , 12. Santiago González Iglesias , 13. Matías Orlando , 14. Matías Moroni , 15. Joaquín Tuculet

Replacements : 16. Julian Montoya , 17. Santiago García Botta , 18. Enrique Pieretto , 19. Marcos Kremer , 20. Tomás Cubelli , 21. Juan Manuel Leguizamon , 22. Jerónimo De la Fuente / Gabriel Ascarate , 23. Ramiro Moyano / Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

* Subject to a late fitness test

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.