Rugby Championship News

New Zealand beat Argentina




New Zealand will put one hand on the 2021 Rugby Championship trophy with a bonus-point win against Argentina at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane after Australia beat South Africa twice in two weeks.

The All Blacks have won 30 of their 32 previous Tests against Argentina (D1, L1), including their last two on the bounce; they have also won three of their four meetings on neutral territory in that time (L1).

  • New Zealand has kept Argentina scoreless in each of their last two meetings in Tests; only twice since 1900 has any Tier 1 nation kept another Tier 1 nation scoreless for more consecutive games (England – 4 games vs Ireland from 1956 to 1959; France – 3 games vs Italy from 1959 to 1961).
  • Argentina has lost three consecutive Tests heading into this fixture after having lost only twice in their 10 Tests prior to that run (W5, D3); the last time they lost more in succession was a 10-game streak from September 2018 to September 2019.
  • No player has made more tackles than Argentinian duo Gonzalo Bertanou (41/45) and Julian Montoya (40/40) in the 2021 edition of The Rugby Championship; in fact, Montoya has missed only one of his last 84 tackle attempts in Test rugby.
  • Akira Ioane has beaten 17 defenders in The Rugby Championship in 2021, six more than any other player in the competition; he has also made five clean breaks and two try assists in the campaign so far.

Match detail

Ahead of this match, the bookmakers gave Argentina a 26-point start this match so they expected an All Black win by 26 points. 

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, for the second Test of The Rugby Championship double-header.

5.00: TRY! Patrick Tuipulotu takes Ardie Savea’s pop-pass and crashes over for his sixth Test try from close range. Will Jordan’s break set up the score when the winger was tackled on the line, the ball was recycled to the No. 4 to score. 0-5

6.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 0-7

8.00: PENALTY! Emiliano Boffelli puts the Pumas on the board. 3-7

12.00: New Zealand, going through the phases, enters the Pumas’ 22; however, good defending halts the attack. NZ do get a penalty for offside in the lead-up.

13.00: PENALTY! Barrett cancels out Boffelli’s kick from in front. 3-10

17.00: NO TRY! Will Jordan’s try is not awarded because he took the ball in front of hooker Samisoni Taukei’aho, who played in the winger. 3-10

20.00: Good defending, coupled with poor handling by New Zealand, sees Jordie Barrett’s linebreak come to nothing.

22.00: NO TRY! Will Jordan claimed Damian McKenzie’s chip kick but passed forward to the supporting Rieko Ioane, who scored under the posts. The TMO had a look and gave the right call. 3-10

24.00: NZ wins a scrum penalty, but ARG stops the driving maul, winning the scrum feed.

26.00: TRY! TJ Perenara breaks to the blindside, takes Hoskins Sotutu’s pass, and burrows under the cover defenders to score his 14th Test try 3-15

28.00: CONVERSION! Barrett adds the extras. 3-17

30.00: NO TRY! Rieko Ioane is pinged for a double movement as he attempted to score under the polls. 3-17

34.00: Los Pumas are struggling to make anything of their limited territory and possession, they have not scored a try in any first half of the Rugby Championship this year.

37.00: An obstruction by the Pumas’ forwards kills another promising attack inside the Abs 22.

39.00: All Blacks win a penalty as another attack by the Pumas comes to nothing.

42.00: TRY! The hooter sounds, the Kiwis attack down the short side taking the ball to the Red Zone. Ian foster’s men go 15 phases before Tupou Vaa’i (2nd Test try) finds himself alone on the wing for a walkover score. 3-22

44.00: CONVERSION! Barrett slots the wide conversion. 3-24

The halftime was Los Pumas 3 All Blacks 24

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back and ready down under.

44.00: PENALTY! Boffelli’s long-range kick is good. 6-24

46.00: TRY! Samisoni Taukei’aho takes Ardie Savea’s pass and scores in the corner. Good hands by McKenzie and Jordan, whose flick-pass put Savea and Taukei’aho in a two-on-one. 6-29

47.00: MISS! Barrett hits the post. 6-29

52.00: TRY! Boffelli claims Santiago Carreras’ pin-point crossfield kick, beat Will Jordan and Jordie Barrett’s tackles to dot down in the corner. 11-29

53.00: CONVERSION! Boffelli adds the touchline kick. 13-29

55.00: Finlay Christie charges down the kick, but a knock-on by the Kiwis gives the Pumas the scrum.

60.00: Lots of mistakes by both teams as the game enters the last 20 minutes.

65.00: Argentina going through the phases, but poor communication kills a certain try for the South Americans. Argentina does, however, get a penalty for a high tackle by Christie on Lavanini.

70.00; It’s all Pumas in Queensland, but they cannot score; NZ is just too good.

75.00: Several attacks have come to nothing for the Pumas, who cannot get a break. Foster’s men are scrambling, but not let the opposition take away their bonus point.

78.00: TRY! Vaa’i has his second. 13-34

79.00: CONVERSION! Barrett adds the extras. 13-36

81.00: The hooter sounds, Los Pumas attack, but can’t do anything with the ball. New Zealand wins and goes back to No, 1 in the World Rankings.


To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Argentina 13 (3) New Zealand 36 (17)


Tries – Boffelli
Pen – Boffelli (2)
Con – Boffelli
Drop –
Cards –

New Zealand
Tries – Tuipulotu, Perenara, Vaa’i (2), Taukei’aho
Pen – J. Barrett
Con – J. Barrett (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper (RSA)
Assistant Ref 1: Nic Berry (AUS)
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan Way (AUS)
TMO: Damon Murphy (AUS)



15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Lucio Cinti, 12 Santiago Chocobares, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martín González, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Julian Montoya (captain), 1 Facundo Gigena

Replacements: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Carlos Muzzio, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Tomás Lezana, 21 Gonzalo Garcia, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Matias Moroni

New Zealand

15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 George Bridge, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Hoskins Sotutu, 7 Ardie Savea (captain), 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Joe Moody

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 George Bower, 18 Ofa Tuungafasi, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Braydon Ennor


Recommended for you

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Argentina vs New Zealand live Rugby Championship score update – Super Rugby | Super 15 Rugby and Rugby Championship News,Results and Fixtures from Super XV Rugby – Rugby in Perth

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.