Rugby Championship News

New Zealand beat Argentina in Rugby Championship




The second match in Round 5 of the Rugby Championship is in Buenos Aires where Argentina’s Pumas host New Zealand’s All Blacks.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The All Blacks have performed the Haka. Beauden Barrett will kick off.

Barrett kicks off and the match is underway.

1.00: The All Blacks win a penalty for going off the feet after the first minute. Barrett will have a kick at goal.

2.00: Barrett nails the kick and the All Blacks lead.

5.00: The All Blacks win a line out and work the ball across the field. Dagg almost gets away but the ball is lost as the ball is recycled.

7.00: Argentina win a scrum and then a penalty. Sanchez kicks for touch.

9.00: The All Blacks run the ball from deep. They move the ball to wing where Julian Savea is pushed into touch. Argentina take a quick throw and they kick behind the All Blacks and find space and set up a line out on the All Blacks 22.

14.00: Penalty to Argentina. They kick for touch and set up a line out in the All Blacks 22.

16.00: Argentina win the line out and Creevy almost gets away to score after TJ Perenara rips the ball off Facundo Isa. He is however called back and there will be a scrum as it was ruled knocked on.

18.00:Creevy goes on another run. The All Blacks stop him and counter attack. Julian Savea races down the wing but is taken into touch.

21.00: New Zealand get the ball into the Argentina 22. They go through the phases as they get to the 5m line but the Pumas defence keeps them out. They are called back for a penalty. They take a scrum. In the Argentina 22.

25.00: The scrum has to be reset. The All Blacks then win the scrum and win another penalty. There is some push and shove but it dies down. The All Blacks take the scrum.

27.00: The All Blacks win the scrum and after a few phases they pass the ball to Anton Lienert-Brown goes for the line and reaches to score and does. TRY!

28.00: Barrett slots the conversion.

32.00: Penalty to Argentina. Sanchez will take the kick for posts.

33.00: Sanchez nails the kick and the Pumas are on the board.

34.00: The All Blacks look to hit back. Julian Savea starts the attack but is brought down. The All Blacks recycle as they change sides and Israel Dagg goes for the line but is tackled into touch as he tries to score.

35.00: The All Blacks win the line out and pass the ball down the line and Ryan Crotty scores. TRY!

36.00: Barrett slots the conversion.

37.00: The All Blacks change down a kick from Argentina, Dagg gets the ball and passes to Lienert-Brown who passes to Dane Coles who scores. TRY!

39.00: Barrett slots the conversion.

The All Blacks attack from the kick off, Ben Smith cuts the Pumas open and TJ Perenara gets the ball and races for the line and scores. TRY!

41.00: Barrett misses the conversion.

It’s half time.

The half time score is Argentina 3 New Zealand 29

Nicolas Sanchez kicks off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The All Blacks sustain some attack from Argentina and then turn the ball over. They press the Pumas back into their half but then the Pumas knock on.

44.00: Free kick to NZ from the scrum. They tap it and work the ball into the Pumas 22. Anton Lienert-Brown pops a pass to Ben Smith in space and he scores. TRY!

45.00: Barrett slots the conversion.

49.00: Damien McKenzie comes on to make his All Black debut.

51.00: Argentina get their best chance to score as Joaquín Tuculet almost gets through. The Pumas recycle but as they go over they lose the ball. They are however called back for a penalty. The TMO will also look for a swinging arm. Joe Moody is yellow carded for being offside and swinging an arm. Argentina take the scrum.

53.00: The scrum takes some time to complete as it has to be reset a few times.

56.00: Argentina win the scrum and put the All Blacks under pressure but they can’t get over. They are called back for another penalty and take another scrum.

The Pumas win the scrum and Facundo Isa slips over and scores next to the posts. They probably would have had a penalty try anyway.

58.00: Sanchez adds the conversion.

60.00: Argentina are all over New Zealand on their 5m line. Patrick Tuipulotu tackles Nicolas Sanchez high as he goes for the line so the TMO is called upon. Penalty only and 5m out is the call from the TMO. They choose the scrum.

62.00: The Pumas win the scrum and attack the All Blacks line.

64.00: The All Blacks hold Argentina out but they concede a penalty. Liam Squire is yellow carded. All Blacks back down to 14.

67.00: Argentina take the scrum again with the penalty. They go wide but the All Blacks hold them out.

70.00: The All Blacks get the ball to Julian Savea who goes for the line but he loses the ball before grounding it in the corner.

73.00: Argentina win a scrum in their 22 and clear the ball. The All Blacks get the ball and begin their counter attack.

77.00: Argentina chip the ball ahead and Joaquín Tuculet grabs it and races for the corner and scores. TRY!

78.00: Santiago González Iglesias adds the conversion.

79.00: Lienert-Brown is down which holds up the match. Facundo Isa is also injured. He is helped from the field.

80.00: The siren sounds for full time as a scrum completes. Argentina win a free kick and they tap it and run.

81.00: Tomas Cubelli makes a break for the Pumas and they get into the All Black 22. The All Blacks infringe so Argentina have a penalty. There is however another injury. The Pumas take a scrum.

82.00: The scrum has to be reset. The Pumas win the scrum and attack in the corner but get tackled into touch. Thats it.

New Zealand have won.

Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Argentina 17 (3) New Zealand 36 (29) 


Tries – F. Isa, J.Tuculet
Pen – N.Sanchez
Con – N.Sanchez, S.González Iglesias
Drop –
Cards –

New Zealand
Tries – A.Lienert-Brown. R.Crotty, D.Coles. TJ.Perenara, B.Smith
Pen – B.Barrett
Con – B.Barrett 3
Drop –
Cards – J.Moody (51st min yellow), L.Squire (65th minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Ref 2:Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
TMO : Johan Greeff (South Africa)



1. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro , 2. Agustín Creevy , 3. Ramiro Herrera , 4. Guido Petti , 5. Matías Alemanno , 6. Pablo Matera , 7. Javier Ortega Desio , 8. Facundo Isa , 9. Martín Landajo (c) , 10. Nicolás Sánchez , 11. Ramiro Moyano , 12. Santiago González Iglesias , 13. Matías Moroni , 14. Santiago Cordero , 15. Joaquín Tuculet

Replacements : 16. Julian Montoya , 17. Lucas Noguera , 18. Enrique Pieretto , 19. Juan Manuel Leguizamon , 20. Leonardo Senatore , 21. Tomás Cubelli , 22. Jerónimo De la Fuente , 23. Matías Orlando

New Zealand

1. Joe Moody , 2. Dane Coles , 3. Owen Franks , 4. Patrick Tuipulotu , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Squire , 7. Ardie Savea , 8. Kieran Read (c) , 9. TJ Perenara, 10. Beauden Barrett , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Ryan Crotty , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Israel Dagg , 15. Ben Smith ,

Replacements : 16. Codie Taylor , 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 19. Samuel Whitelock, 20. Elliot Dixon , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Lima Sopoaga, 23. Damian McKenzie.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.