Rugby Championship News

Australia beat South Africa in Perth





Out of the last five Rugby Championship matches between Australia’s Wallabies and South Africa’s Springboks the Wallabies have won two and the Springboks three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. The anthems have been sung and the teams are taking their places for the kick off. There is a delay as Referee Clancy gets his microphone set adjusted. Bernard Foley will kick off.

0.01: Foley kicks off and the Wallabies manage to get the Springboks to take the ball out on the 5m line.

1.00: The Wallabies win the line out and attack the Springboks on their 5m line.

1.23: The Wallabies go through four phases and Toomua passes to Israel Folau who goes over to score. TRY! The TMO double checks. The try is awarded.

2.25: Foley takes the conversion but misses it.

4.00: Penalty to South Africa for not releasing. Morne Steyn will kick for posts.

5.00: Steyn takes the kick and nails it. South Africa are on the board.

9.00: Penalty to Australia for South Africa playing the ball on the ground. They kick for touch from inside their half.

11.00: A Wallabies player leaves his feet so South Africa get a penalty. They kick for touch. Neither team has been able to get much momentum yet.

12.00: South Africa get quick ball after a line out. They go wide and then change sides and stretch the Wallabies defence and Cornal Hendricks scores the TRY in the corner.

13.00: Steyn takes the conversion kick from out wide but misses. Springboks lead.

14.00 South Africa lose the ball at the breakdown as they try to move the ball out. Australia pounce on the ball and push the Springboks back to their 5m line where the Boks put their hands in the ruck and concede a penalty. Foley will kick for posts in order to equal the scores.

16.00: Foley takes the shot and nails the penalty. The scores are level.

18.00: Penalty after the restart to the Springboks. Steyn takes the kick and nails it. The Boks lead again.

22.00: The Wallabies try to kick for territory but Willie le Roux kicks the ball straight back at them and sets up a Wallabies line out on the half way line.

23.00: South Africa win the line out and attack but get called back for a penalty.

25.00: Steyn takes the penalty kick and nails it.

26.00: Australia work the ball into the Springboks half. They win a penalty just outside the Boks 22. Foley lines up the kick.

27.00: Foley takes his time and nails the kick to narrow the gap.

29.00: The Wallabies win a line out and spread the ball wide. Kuridrani gets past two defenders and is brought down. The Wallabies play on but then knock on. A bit of a scuffle breaks out and then dies down.

31.00: South Africa make a mistake with a short arm penalty which gives the ball to Australia who attack. The Wallabies use the grubber kick to the corner but Adam Ashley-Cooper loses the ball as he goes over.

34.00: The ball goes out after the scrum and the Boks win a penalty at the line out for interfering. The Boks kick upfield to relieve pressure.

37.00: Steyn clears the ball after a scrum and Folau goes for the ball and misses. The Wallabies manage to get the ball back and kick upfield but the Springboks send the ball back further and the Boks chase forcing the Wallabies to take it out.

38.00: South Africa win the line out just outside the Wallabies 22. They go thought 9 phases and the Wallabies turn the ball over. They run it a bit but then kick for territory.

39.00: South Africa (Le Roux) kicks the ball back and it goes out. The siren sounds so it’s half time.

The half time score was Australia 11 South Africa 14

South Africa kick off and the second half is underway.

41.00: Australia put South Africa under pressure from the kick off as Michael Hooper chases and it wins them a penalty.

42.00: Foley slots the penalty and the scores are level.

43.00: South Africa respond with a big scrum which wins them a penalty. Steyn will kick for posts.

44.00: Steyn takes the shot and nails it. South Africa lead again.

45.00: Bryan Habana makes a break for the Springboks and passes to Jean de Villiers. He passes to another who knocks on.

46.00: The Springboks win a penalty from the scrum and they choose to kick for posts.

47.00: Steyn takes the penalty shot and curls it in.

51.00: Australia give a big push and press the Boks back but South Africa clear the ball and kick for touch. The Boks win the line out and then Australia knock on.

53.00: James Slipper comes off and Pek Cowan comes on.

57.00: South Africa put Australia under real pressure in the 22.

59.00: Penalty to Australia on the 5m line. They kick for touch. James Horwill comes on for Australia as does Scott Higginbotham.

60.00: Bismarck du Plessis comes on for South Africa. Horwill concedes a penalty so Steyn has another kick at posts. He just sneaks it over.

64.00: Australia get the ball into the Springboks half. They go through 6 phases and slowly but surely make ground. The whistle goes and the TMO is called in to look at a high tackle by Habana who is subsequently yellow carded.

65.00: The Wallabies run the ball and get to the South African line. Cowan goes over but a penalty is awarded to South Africa for an infringement.

68.00: Penalty to Australia. Foley takes the kick, nails it and cuts the gap a little.

70.00: Momentum is slowly shifting towards Australia as they have the extra man. They make a break but then concede a penalty so South Africa kick for touch and walk slowly to the line out.

72.00: South Africa win the line out but the put a hand in the ruck and concede a penalty. Australia kick for touch. Kurtley Beale comes on for Australia (replacing Toomua)

74.00: Australia go on the attack. They put South Africa under real pressure in their 22. They get the overlap but fail to see it and lose a chance to draw level.

75.00: The Wallabies win a penalty and run the ball. They get to 1m out but they are held out.

76.00: Penalty to South Africa on their tryline with a man down. They kick for touch but fail to find it so the Wallabies continue the attack.

77.00: The Wallabies stretch South Africa’s defence and Rob Horne sidesteps Morne Steyn (weak tackle) and goes in to score. TRY!

79.00: Bernard Foley takes the conversion kick and nails it. Australia lead by a point.

80.00: As the siren sounds the Wallabies win a penalty. They kick the ball out and win.

Australia have won.

The full time score is Australia 24 (11) South Africa 23 (14)


Tries – I.Folau, R.Horne
Pen – B.Foley 4
Con – B.Foley
Drop –
Cards –

South Africa
Tries – C.Hendricks
Pen – M.Steyn 6
Con –
Drop –
Cards – B,Habana (65th min yellow)

Match Officials
George Clancy
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Mike Fraser
TMO : Ben Skeen



Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Toomua, Rob Horne, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps, Wycliff Palu, Michael Hooper (capt), Scott Fardy, Rob Simmons, Sam Carter, Sekope Kepu, James Hanson, James Slipper

Replacements: Saia Fainga’a, Pek Cowan, Ben Alexander, James Horwill, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, Nic White, Kurtley Beale

South Africa

Willie le Roux, Cornal Hendricks, Jan Serfontein, Jean de Villiers (capt), Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Duane Vermeulen, Marcell Coetzee, Francois Louw, Victor Matfield, Eben Etzebeth, Jannie du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: Bismarck du Plessis, Trevor Nyakane, Marcel van der Merwe, Lood de Jager, Warren Whiteley, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie, Damian de Allende.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.