Rugby Championship News

Australia make one change for Springboks




Australia head coach Michael Cheika has named a Wallabies team with one change for this Saturday’s Rugby Championship match against South Africa’s Springboks in Pretoria.

Cheika has brought in Rebels backrower Sean McMahon to replace David Pocock who was ruled out with a hand injury.

McMahon hasn’t started in the Gold jersey since the Wallabies went down to England at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium in the third Test of the June series.

The 22-year old is the sole change to the starting 15 with Cheika naming an extended bench that will be confirmed after Friday’s Captain’s Run in Johannesburg.

Fellow Rebel James Hanson will get the chance to add to his 10 Tests after being named amongst the reserves.

The hooker’s last Test was over a year ago against the United States of America but gets an opportunity in the absence of Tatafu Polota-Nau.

A Test debut beckons for Rebels winger Sefa Naivalu against the Springboks, capping a rapid rise for the 24-year old, who was playing club Rugby in Victoria just two years ago.

It’s a return for Kane Douglas and Scott Fardy who have also been named on the bench, with Cheika yet to decide the final make-up of the replacements bench.


1. Scott Sio,2. Stephen Moore (c) ,3. Sekope Kepu ,4. Rob Simmons,5. Adam Coleman ,6. Dean Mumm ,7. Michael Hooper,8. Sean McMahon ,9. Will Genia ,10. Quade Cooper,11. Reece Hodge,12. Bernard Foley ,13. Samu Kerevi ,14. Dane Haylett-Petty ,15. Israel Folau ,

Replacements : (one to be omitted) James Hanson (10 Tests),James Slipper (81 Tests),Tom Robertson (1 Test),Kane Douglas (25 Tests),Scott Fardy (35 Tests),Lopeti Timani (1 Test),Nick Phipps (45 Tests),Tevita Kuridrani (38 Tests),Sefa Naivalu*

*denotes uncapped player

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.