Rugby Championship News

Australia unchanged for Argentina in Rugby Championship



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Australia’s head coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged Wallabies team to play Argentina’s Pumas at Malvinas Argentinas Stadium in Mendoza this weekend.

The Wallabies drew 27-all with South Africa last weekend and Cheika has chosen to stick with the same starting fifteen that he relied on in their last outing.

It’s the first time in 2017 that the Wallabies will run out with an unchanged starting fifteen. In fact, it’s the first time that Michael Cheika has named an unchanged starting fifteen in consecutive Tests, since being appointed Wallabies coach in October 2014.

On the bench, Australia have reverted to a five-three split of forwards and backs with Tetera Faulkner set to earn his third Test cap almost three years on from his last Wallabies appearance in November 2014 against Ireland.

After making his debut last week, Lukhan Tui maintains his spot amongst the reserves while winger Henry Speight will wear number 23.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said: “You’re always affected by injuries some weeks, and then sometimes you are trying new combinations but before this campaign, I said that the base is here now and there are some guys that I’m looking at to back up week to week.

“Tetera has trained really well and done everything we’ve asked of him and now is an opportunity for him. He’s got a clear guide on what we need him to do to improve and compete with Tom (Robertson) and Scott (Sio) after that.

“We started the first 40 minutes (of the Rugby Championship) really poorly but since then we’ve been more than competitive. Players are improving and we’ve got fitter so we’re competing in games for longer.

“Of course, I would have liked to have had a couple more wins but we’re looking to improve more before the year is out,” Cheika said.

A win could see Australia leapfrog South Africa into second on the final Rugby Championship standings, with the Springboks to face 2017 champions New Zealand in Cape Town.

The Wallabies have won 14 of their last 15 games against the Pumas, including each of their last five clashes.

Australia haven’t had a good record away from home recently though, with the Wallabies without a win in their last four games abroad.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Jack Dempsey, 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. Sean McMahon, 9. Will Genia (vc) , 10. Bernard Foley (vc) , 11. Reece Hodge, 12. Kurtley Beale, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Marika Koroibete, 15. Israel Folau ,

Replacements : 16. Stephen Moore , 17. Tetera Faulkner , 18. Allan Alaalatoa , 19. Rob Simmons , 20. Lukhan Tui , 21. Nick Phipps, 22. Samu Kerevi , 23. Henry Speight

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.