Rugby Championship News

Bledisloe Cup: All Blacks retain trophy after walloping Wallabies




New Zealand thrashed Australia 57-22 to open their Rugby Championship account and retain the Bledisloe Cup at Eden Park, Auckland.

Codie Taylor bagged a brace as New Zealand routed Australia in record fashion, scoring eight tries to three in the City of Sails.

Rieko Ioane, Brodie Retallick, Ardie Savea, Sevu Reece, Will Jordan, and David Havili also crossed as the hosts humbled Dave Rennie’s side.

The All Blacks keep the Bledisloe Cup for another year while also opening their Rugby Championship account with a bonus-point win in the Auckland rain.

New Zealand took a slender three-try to two 21-15 halftime lead.

But the three-time World Champions ran away with the game in the second stanza with five more five-pointers to Australia’s one.

Australia remain on the wrong side of history as New Zealand continue to dominate what has become a one-sided Trans-Tasman affair

This chastening defeat means the Wallabies have not won in the Land of the Long White Cloud in any of their previous 27 Tests versus the Kiwis, and not at Eden Park since 1986.

The All Blacks racked up a half-century to keep hold of the Bledisloe Cup for the 19th season in a row as the visitors wilted in the rain.

Australia last held the famous old trophy back in 2002, which only highlights the gulf in class between the two countries over the past two decades.

Richie Mo’unga had a relatively quiet night, although he still contributed 10 points from the tee.

Beauden Barrett came off the bench to slot the two conversions that took the score past the previous largest winning margin for the Kiwis.

Damian McKenzie’s massive 59-metre penalty got the fullback on the scoresheet.

Andrew Kellaway scored twice for the Aussies as the winger show-cased his finishing skills with another impressive display in the green and gold.

Tate McDermott also dotted down for the Wallabies following another superb performance at halfback.

Ian Foster will be happy with his team’s ruthlessness, especially after letting the opposition off the hook last weekend in Bledisloe One.

New Zealand had won their last five Tests on the bounce, scoring an average of 58 points per game in that span, and they will take some beating in the Rugby Championship.

New Zealand edge close first half but pull away after the break

Ioane, Retallick, and Savea all dotted down in the first half, but Kellaway and Tate’s last-minute score kept the tourists in the hunt.

Ioane snatched Noah Lolesio’s loose pass, and raced 80 metres to open the scoring.

Mo’unga converted before Kellaway struck three minutes later following a 10-phase attack.

The Wallabies could not make their momwentum count, and it proved costly.

Mo’unga pushed a penalty wide, but the Kiwis grabbed seven a few moments later.

Retallick dived in next to the posts for his sixth Test try in the 24th minute.

A crazy series of plays ended with Australia taking a quick-tap penalty from inside their own half; however, the Kiwis won possession and went coast-to-coast to score a scintillating try.

Lolesio made it 14-8 with a penalty on the half-hour, but once again, Foster’s charges struck soon after.

A poor kick by Australia finshed with Ardie Savea getting helped over the line by Taylor for his 13th Test try.

Australia did, however, strike on the stroke of halftime when McDermott broke off the back of a scrum, and cut inside Dalton Papalii to score under the posts.

Lolesio added the extras to make it an eight-point ball-game at the interval.

Kiwis run riot in the second period

Savea was sent to the bin soon after the restart for repeated All Blacks infringements inside the red zone.

Rennie’s men could not make their numerical advantage count; instead, they conceded 10 points during this period.

Aaron Smith broke from a halfway-line lineout after selling McDermott a hot-cake, and playd in the supporting Taylor.

Mo’unga converted before McKenzie stepped up and leathered a monster kick from almost 60 metres.

The game was soon over when Reece intercepted Matt To’omua’s floated pass and ran 60 metres to score under the posts.

Taylor crashed over six minutes later for his 14th Test try as the rain belted down.

The all Blacks raised their bat when Savea combined with Papalii before the No. 8 sent Jordan away for his 10th try in six Tests.

Beauden Barrett’s first conversion made it 50-15 with 14 to play.

Kellaway nabbed his second score two minutes later, however, Havili capped a fine display for the hosts when he slid over from five metres out.

Final Score: New Zealand 57 (21) Australia 22 (15)


New Zealand
Tries – R. Ioane, Retallick, A. Savea, Taylor (2), Reece, Jordan, Havili
Pen – McKenzie
Con – Mo’unga (5), B. Barrett (2)
Drop –
Cards – A. Savea (Yellow, 42′)

Tries – Kellaway (2), McDermott
Pen – Lolesio
Con – Lolesio (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 1: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 2: Mike Fraser
TMO: Glenn Newman


New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Sevu Reece, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Samuel Whitelock (captain), 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 George Bower

Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Jordie Barrett


15 Tom Banks, 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Matt To’omua, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Tate McDermott, 1 James Slipper, 2 Brandon Paenga Amosa, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 4 Darcy Swain, 5 Matt Philip, 6 Lachie Swinton, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 8 Rob Valetini

Replacements: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Lukhan Salakaia Loto, 20 Harry Wilson, 21 Nic White, 22 Len Ikitau, 23 Reece Hodge

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.