Blues beat Highlanders in Dunedin



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


After the highs of beating the Crusaders last weekend the Highlanders return to Dunedin to host the Blues.

The Highlanders victory over the Crusaders last week allowed the Aucklanders to move above the Crusaders in the Super Rugby standings.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.


The match is underway.


2.00: The Blues make a strong territorial start. They set up a line out almost on the Highlanders 5m line but concede a penalty after that line out.


4.00:The Blues scrum gains some early dominance which gets the Blues over the gain line as the backs get some good ball. As they attack Thomson is caught offside.


5.00: Luke McAlister takes the penalty kick but it fades to the left.


7.00: Blues are dominating the early stages here. It’s all the Blues on attack in the Highlanders half. Highlanders haven’t seen the Blues 25 yet.  


8.00: Adam Thomson concedes another penalty. Strange decision that one as he tackled Big Joe and got up to play the ball.


9.00: Luke McAlister takes the penalty kick and slots this one.


12.00: The Highlanders are edging back into the game. They win a penalty and Tony Brown kicks for touch. The Blues however press them back after the line out.


15.00: The Highlanders concede a free kick for wheeling the scrum. It’s third scrum infringement of the game. Highlanders 2 Blues 1.


17.00: Big blow for the Highlanders as Tony Brown comes off injured. Matt Saunders comes on and Robbie Robinson moves to 10.


18.00: Ben Smith breaks through two tackles and is brought to ground and then Jimmy Cowan concedes an offside penalty.


20.00: Penalty to the Highlanders – Rene Ranger offside. Robinson kicks for touch.


23.00: Highlanders much more in control of the game now. They set up a Blues 5m line out. The Blues win the ball and kick it out near the 10m line by the half way line.


24.00: Ali Williams goes down at the line out and the Highlanders concede a penalty. Blues kick downfield.


27.00: The Highlanders attack again but again Adam Thomson concedes a penalty. Blues kick for touch.


32.00: The Blues win another penalty. Luke McAlister takes the shot and slots it doubling the lead.


35.00: Ranger kicks the ball up and chases it, he gets to the ball but loses it forward and the ball rolls out.


37.00: The Blues won the ball to the Highlanders line, they try the cross-field kick but we are called back for a penalty to the Blues about 10m out.


39.00: The Blues choose the scrum for their penalty. It gets reset a couple of times.


40.00: After a few more resets the Blues win the scrum but can’t get the ball out and are awarded another penalty. Jarrad Hoeata is also shown a yellow card.


41.00: Luke McAlister takes the penalty kick and slots it. It is half time.


The half time score was Highlanders 0 Blues 9


The second half is underway.


41.00: Very strong start from the Highlanders. Great break from Matt Saunders. They win a penalty and take it quickly.


42.00: They win another penalty and Manu drives for the line, they recycle and this time Robbie Robinson goes over and scores the first try of the match. TRY!!


43.00: Robbie Robinson converts his try.


45.00: The Highlanders have seriously upped their pace for this half. Thomson breaks through the Blues defence but drops the ball as he is tackled.


46.00:Siale Piutau tries to clear the ball and kicks but misses completely. In South Africa they call that a Freshie. The Blues however have a penalty.


47.00: Luke McAlister takes the penalty kick and slots it.


49.00: The game is being played at a serious pace now. Ben Smith enjoys a great run through the middle of the Blues defence and as he goes to ground, the Blues concede  a penalty.


50.00: Robbie Robinson slots the penalty. Highlanders back to 14 men now.


55.00: Highlanders pressing hard the at the Blues. Thomson comes close to scoring in the corner but the ball was out.


60.00: The Highlanders have slowed the Blues down but being back to 15 players has also slowed them down as they are not quite playing with the pace they did while down to 14.


63.00: Highlanders probing behind the Blues with the boot but the Blues are up to the task.


64.00: Penalty to the Blues. They will kick for posts even though it’s almost on the half way line.


65.00: McAlister takes the kick and again he slots it. That’s five penalties for him.


68.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Robbie Robinson takes the kick from almost the touchline. He misses.


71.00: Robinson finds touch well behind the Blues and sets up a Blues line out in their 25. The Blues however win the line out and kick the ball out to safety.


75.00: Luke McAlister is hobbling off the field. Lachie Munro comes on. Looks painful for McAlister.


76.00The Highlanders will finish the game with 14 men as Aaron Smith is shown a yellow card for a tackle on Toby Morland.


78.00: The Blues are trying to pin the Highlanders back in their half. It’s slow ball at the breakdown.  


79.00: Very slow and steady play from the Blues. 28 phases so far.


80.00: The siren sounds after the ball is knocked on by the Highlanders. We have time for a scrum.


81.00: The Blues win the scrum and Benson Stanley kicks it out. The Blues win.


The full time score  is Highlanders 10 Blues 15 


Tries – R. Robinson
Pen – R Robinson
Con – R Robinson
Drop –
Cards – Jarrad Hoeata (40) yellow, Aaron Smith (75) yellow 

Tries –
Pen – L McAlister 5
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referees: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)


Highlanders:1 ,Jamie Mackintosh (C) 2 , Jason Rutledge 3 , Chris King 4, Jarrad Hoeata 5 , Josh Bekhuis 6 , Adam Thomson 7 , Alando Soakai 8 , Nasi Manu 9 , Jimmy Cowan (VC) 10 ,Tony Brown 11,Siale Piutau 12 , Ben Smith 13 ,Kendrick Lynn 14 ,G Kade Poki 15, Robbie Robinson

Replacements: 16. Mo Schwalger 17. David Te Moana 18. Tom Donnelly 19. Nick Crosswell 20. Aaron Smith 21. Matt Saunders 22. James Paterson.

Blues: 15 Isaia Toeava, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Anthony Boric, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu (c), 1 Tevita Mailau.

Replacements: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 James King, 19 Chris Lowrey, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Benson Stanley, 22 Lachie Munro.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.