Super Rugby

Blues earn first win over Chiefs in 15 matches




The Blues kept their hopes of a place in the Super rugby final alive by beating the Chiefs 23-8 with a bonus point at Eden Park in Auckland.

The Blues had not beaten the Chiefs in their last 15 attempts and had lost the last three matches after they drew in 2017 in Auckland.

Prior to that draw in 2017 the Blues suffered 11 straight losses to the Chiefs.

The last time the Blues prevailed against the Chiefs was in March 2011.

The Blues outscored the Chiefs by four tries to one in the match after leading 10-8 at half time.

The Blues victory ended a four match losing streak against all teams this season and moved the Blues ahead of the Chiefs in the standings. The result keeps the Blues in with a slim chance of reaching the play offs and all but finishes off the Chiefs chances.

“It’s very satisfying,” said Blues captain Patrick Tuipulotu after the match.

“After our run in the last couple of games to come in and finish it off like that, I’m very happy.”

In contrast Chiefs captain Brad Weber said that he found the match “incredibly frustrating”.

“We were our own worst enemies out there,” said Weber.

At the start of the match both teams chose scrums instead of penalties in front of the posts instead of taking the points with penalties. Both teams came away from their positions without any points.

The Chiefs grabbed the first points of the contest after the Blues coughed up the ball in defence and into Mitchell Karpik’s hands for a try that went unconverted.

The Blues also scored from turnover ball after Harry Plummer scored for the home side in the corner. He was unable to converted his try.

Marty McKenzie put the Chiefs into the lead with a penalty before the Blues were awarded a second try to Melani Nanai following a TMO review just before half time.

Plummer added a penalty in the second half to extend the lead for the home side.

The Blues went even further ahead when tighthead prop Ofa Tuungafasi was driven over the line. Plummer was unable to convert but the Blues had a comfortable lead at 18-8.

Cowley-Tuioti’s try in extra time finished off the scoring for the Blues.

Next week the Blues take on the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday while the Chiefs host the Reds on Friday at home in Hamilton.

Last 16 results between Blues and Chiefs

Sat, 18 May 2019 Blues v Chiefs 23-8 Auckland
Sat, 13 Apr 2019 Blues v Chiefs 29-33 Hamilton
Sat, 07 Apr 2018 Blues v Chiefs 19-21 Hamilton
Fri, 02 Mar 2018 Blues v Chiefs 21-27 Auckland
Fri, 26 May 2017 Blues v Chiefs 16-16 Auckland
Fri, 03 Mar 2017 Blues v Chiefs 26-41 Waikato
Fri, 08 Apr 2016 Blues v Chiefs 23-29 Hamilton
Sat, 04 Apr 2015 Blues v Chiefs 16-23 Hamilton
Sat, 14 Feb 2015 Blues v Chiefs 18-2 Albany
Fri, 11 Jul 2014 Blues v Chiefs 8-11 Auckland
Fri, 09 May 2014 Blues v Chiefs 20-32 New Plymouth
Sat, 13 Jul 2013 Blues v Chiefs 16-26 Auckland
Sat, 30 Mar 2013 Blues v Chiefs 16-23 Mount Maunganui
Sat, 02 Jun 2012 Blues v Chiefs 34-41 Auckland
Fri, 02 Mar 2012 Blues v Chiefs 14-29 Hamilton
Sat, 04 Jun 2011 Blues v Chiefs 11-16 Auckland
Sat, 26 Mar 2011 Blues v Chiefs 16-13 Hamilton

Final Score Blues 23 (10) Chiefs 8 (8)


Tries – H.Plummer, M.Nanai, O.Tuungafasi, G. Cowley-Tuioti
Pen – H.Plummer
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – M.Karpik
Pen -M.McKenzie
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Dan Waenga
TMO :Glenn Newman



1 Alex Hodgman, 2 Matt Moulds, 3 Ofa Tuungafasi, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu (co-capt), 5 Scott Scrafton, 6 Dalton Papalii, 7 Blake Gibson (co-capt), 8 Akira Ioane, 9 Jonathan Ruru, 10 Harry Plummer, 11 Rieko Ioane, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 13 TJ Faiane (co-capt), 14 Caleb Clarke, 15 Melani Nanai.

Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Lua Li, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 20 Tom Robinson, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Otere Black, 23 Matt Duffie.


15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Mitchell Karpik, 6 Pita Gus Sowakula, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Jesse Parete, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Atu Moli

Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Aidan Ross, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Mitchell Jacobson, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Ataata Moeakiola, 23 Alex Nankivell

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.