Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Blues end three match losing streak to Stormers

Ma'a Nonu of the Blues makes a run against Eben Etzebeth of the Stormers during the round 7 Super Rugby match between the Blues and the Stormers at Eden Park

Ma'a Nonu of the Blues makes a run against Eben Etzebeth of the Stormers during the round 7 Super Rugby match between the Blues and the Stormers at Eden Park

Auckland’s Blues ended a three match Super rugby losing streak to the Stormers with a 24-9 bonus point victory over the Cape Town based side at Eden Park.

The victory is the third straight win against all teams for the Blues which is their longest winning run in two years.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Blues outscored the Stormers by three tries to none in the match so they take the bonus point from the match.

The previous three matches between the two sides had all been played in Cape Town and were won by the Stormers.

The last time the Blues beat the Stormers in Auckland was in 2011.

The Blues finished the match with 14 players after winger Tanielu Tele’a was red carded ten minutes from full-time but the Auckland side still managed to hold on for the victory.

Tele’a scored a try in the first half of the match but in the second he chased a high ball but went under a leaping Dillyn Leyds who landed dangerously on his upper back.

Aside from that incident Tele’a had a strong match but will now face a Sanzaar judiciary which could lead to more time off on the sidelines.

As the Blues held on for the victory they have turned around a three match losing streak to have won their last three matches and have moved provisionally up to sixth place overall.

After a fast paced and aggressive start the Stormers went out to a six point lead in 29th minute with two penalties from Jean-Luc du Plessis but then the Blues got their game together and Tele’a’ scored the opening try of the contest.

Otere Black added the conversion and then three minutes before half time he added a penalty to take the half time scores to 10-6 in favour of the hosts.

The Stormers made another start full of intent in the second half and they almost took the lead back when Joshua Stander thought he had scored but the TMO ruled that there had been a forward pass in the build up.

The Cape Town side did get three points for their efforts.

Akira and brother Rieko Ioane both created opportunities for the Blues but the home side were unable to finish off any of their attacks until Sonny Bill Williams offloaded to Black in front of the posts with 20 minutes remaining. Black then converted his try.

In the 69th minute the Blues lost Tele’a which promised to set up a close finish but despite being a player down the Blues were the next to score when Rieko Ioane ran down the wing on the side of the scrum beating Justin Phillips.

Black added the conversion to give the Blues a 15 point lead with five minutes remaining. The Stormers mounted a late charge for the line but the ball was knocked on by Pieter-Steph du Toit who had a poor match in terms of handling.

Next week the Blues host the Waratahs in Auckland on Saturday while the Stormers play the Reds in Brisbane on Friday.

Final Score Blues 24 (10) Stormers 9 (6)


Tries – T.Tele’a, O.Black, R.Ioane
Pen – O.Black
Con – O.Black 2
Drop –
Cards – T.Tele’a (69th min red)

Tries –
Pen – J-L du Plessis 3
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Federico Anselmi
TMO :Ben Skeen



15 Melani Nanai, 14 Tanielu Tele’a, 13 TJ Faiane, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Otere Black, 9 Jonathan Ruru; 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Tom Robinson, 5 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 James Parsons, 1. Alex Hodgman.

Replacements: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Ofa Tuungafasi, 19 Scott Scrafton, 20 Dalton Papalii, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Harry Plummer, 23 Sonny Bill Williams.


15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Cobus Wiese, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Joshua Stander, 23 SP Marais.

Exit mobile version