Blues fling Highlanders



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update – Report to follow.





The Highlanders should be in high spirits after beating the Cheetahs at the end of a three match tour of the Republic. The Blues too should be in a positive frame of mind after breaking a losing streak that dates back to Round Seven where they picked up their last victory before beating the Reds last week.


Saturday May 10
Carisbrook, Dunedin
Highlanders vs Blues in Dunedin
Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referee: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand), Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)
Assessor: Stuart Beissel (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Blues 8, Highlanders 5
In Dunedin: Played 5, Highlanders 3, Blues 2
Last season: Round 5, March 2 2007: Blues 28-9 Highlanders at Eden Park, Auckland


Match Detail


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


2.00: The Blues showed their intent from the kick off by going on the attack from the kick off. A penalty was awarded to the Blues so Nick Evans took the shot and slotted it.


7.00: The Blues continued their attack and Anthony Tuitavake looked to have scored a try in the corner but the TV replay showed that he had a foot in touch.


14.00: The Highlanders gave another penalty away so again Nick Evans slotted the kick. He knows this ground well from his time as as a Highlander.


15.00: The Blues immediately gave a penalty away so Mike Delany took the shot and missed.


18.00: The Blues were awarded another penalty so Nick Evans took the kick and slotted it.


21.00: The Blues were next to give a penalty away so Mike Delany took the kick and slotted it putting the Highlanders on the board.


25.00: Nick Evans took a chance and kicked the ball through the defence and then chased it and scored the Blues first try.


26.00: Nick Evans then missed the conversion of his try.


30.00: The Highlanders enjoy a good spell and put the Blues tryline under pressure but then the Blues turn it over and clear the ball.


32.00: Nick Evans gets the ball on the wing and scores his second try against his old team.


33.00: This time he slots the conversion.


35.00: Rudi Wulf gets the ball at pace and runs in the Blues third try in the same corner.


The Blues are now in the hunt for a bonus point try.


37.00: Nick Evans misses the conversion.


40.02: The Siren goes for half time. Nacewa puts the ball into touch.



The Half time Score was Highlanders 3 Blues 26


The Second half is underway.


45.00: The Blues go in attack and also in search of that bonus point try – Nacewa gets close but the ball is knocked on.


51.00: The first points of the second half are scored by  Aaron Bancroft who shows some good pace to score the try.


52.00: Mike Delany added the conversion.


55.00: The Highlanders manage to score another try in the space of a few minutes and this time it’s Adam Thomson.


56.00 : Mike Delany is unable to convert the try.


61.00: Anthony Tuitavake powers through to score the Blues bonus point try.


62.00: Nick Evans converts the try and the Blues have a good points buffer again.


70.00: The Highlanders get a penalty and decide to kick it out and go for the line out as they need tries.


73.00: The Blues remain on attack and Taniela Moa comes close to scoring a try but he is stopped and Chris King is sent to the bin for 10 minutes.


74.00: Fetu’u Vainikolo shows he still has some pace and some football skills kicking the ball upfield twice but the ball gets pulled into a ruck.


77.00: The Highlanders are trying hard to keep the ball alive and finish on a high. The Blues defence holds strong.


78.00: The ball is stolen by David Smith who runs almost the length of the field to score a great try. Fetu’u Vainikolo couldn’t catch him. Ben Atiga converts the try.


80.00 The siren goes.


The full time score is Highlanders 15 Blues 40


Report to follow.





Tries –  Aaron Bancroft,Adam Thomson
Pen – Mike Delany
Con – Mike Delany
Cards – Chris King 73 (yellow)



Tries – Nick Evans (2) Rudi Wulf,Anthony Tuitavake, David Smith
Pen – Nick Evans (3)
Con -Nick Evans (2), Ben Atiga







15. Paul Williams,14. Glen Horton ,13. Aaron Bancroft,12. Johnny Leota,11. Fetu’u Vainikolo,10. Mike Delany,9. Jimmy Cowan ,8. Craig Newby ( c ),7. Alando Soakai,6. Adam Thomson,5. Tom Donnelly,4. Hoani MacDonald,3. Clint Newland,2. Jason MacDonald,1. Jamie Mackintosh,

Reserves:16. David Hall,17. Chris King,18. Isaac Ross,19. Steven Setephano,20. Toby Morland,21. Daniel Bowden,22. Niva Ta’auso.




Nick Evans, David Smith, Anthony Tuitavake, Benson Stanley, Rudi Wulf, Isa Nacewa, Taniela Moa, Nick Williams, Daniel Braid, Jerome Kaino, Troy Flavell (captain)/Kurtis Haiu, Anthony Boric, John Afoa, Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodcock/Nick White.
Reserves: White/Tom McCartney, Bronson Murray, Haiu/Bryn Evans, Justin Collins, Danny Lee, Isaia Toeava, Ben Atiga.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.