Blues get back on track with Bulls win



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Blues got a much needed win on Friday against the Bulls of Pretoria. While the Blues were much better this week the Bulls were the team that looked like they needed work. They look like they lack the confidence to win away from home.

The Bulls poor play should not take anything way from the Blues though because they were much better this time round. At No.10 Nacewa adopted to his role well. He kicked well and in contrast his opposite number Derick Hougaard had a poor night with his kicks at goal. He missed two sitters which is rare for a guy going into this match with a 93% kicking percentage for the year.

Early on in the match the Blues had a shocker of a line out and this allowed the enormous Bakkies Botha to catch the ball behind the line out and all he had to do was lean towards the line and fall on it. This try was converted and kept the Bulls in the match.

At half time the score was Blues 20 Bulls 10 and the game could have gone either way given some of the Blues past performances this year. Instead the Bulls faded in the second half and the Blues came somewhat alive.

Although Rokocoko didn’t cross the line himself he had a good game and looked for work throughout. The Blues created a try from a line out and Rokocoko came in to pass the ball to Waqaseduadua who scored his first Super 14 try this year.

Tries from an in form Senio and another from Williams will give coach David Nucifora a confidence boost for the next couple of weeks.

The Bulls game plan appeared to be centred on capitalising on the Blues mistakes but the Blues were in much better form so the mistakes were few. In reality the final score of Blues 30 Bulls 17 flatters the Bulls.

Next week the Blues host the Stormers from South Africa who struggled at home so the crowd at Eden Park should give the Blues enough backing to get another win.




Nacewa 2

Nacewa 2


Bakkies Botha
Gary Botha



15 Brent Ward, 14 Vili Waqaseduadua, 13 Anthony Tuitavake, 12 Rua Tipoki, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Isa Nacewa, 9 John Senio, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Angus Macdonald, 6 Troy Flavell, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Greg Rawlinson, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu (c), 1 Tony Woodcock.

Reserves: 16 Tim Dow, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Auva’a Tololima Onosai’i, 20 Junior Poluleuligaga, 21 Tasesa Lavea, 22 Ben Atiga.

15 Johan Roets, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JP Nel, 12 Dries Scholtz, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Jacques Cronje, 7 Pedrie Wannenburg, 6 Danie Rossouw, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Andries Human, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Jaco Engels.

Reserves: 16 Jan Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wessel Roux, 18 Francois van Schouwenburg, 19 Tim Dlulane, 20 Fourie Du Preez, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Pierre Spies.

Referee: Brett Bowden (Aus).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.