Blues get battered by Bulls



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


This was a score update



The Bulls have employed a simple, but very effective, game plan in the last few weeks. They dominate the opposition up front and apply pressure from the outset. It has allowed them to cut loose and score 12 tries in their last two games.

Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer spoke of “tweaking” his team’s tactics this week and suggested they will need to play “total” rugby to beat the Blues.

According to Meyer the Bulls will only beat the “brilliant” Blues by playing total rugby.

“We can not afford to put safety first. We will have to play positive rugby,” said Meyer.

However, it is doubtful if the change in approach will be as dramatic as it sounds. It is doubtful the Bulls will be throwing the ball around willy-nilly.

“Our tactics will be tweaked and we tweak it from game to game, depending on the opposition. But there won’t be any radical changes,” Meyer added.


Match detail


In the first half the Bulls scored all the tries with the last one coming after the half time hooter.


The Blues only points have come from the boot of Isa Nacewa and he has kicked them three penalties.


The half time score was Bulls 20 Blues 9


The Blues came back in the secons half but the Bulls continued to score tries and even got the bonus point try.


The Full time score is Bulls 40 Blues 19




Tries – Wikus van Heerden, Pedrie Wannenburg, Fourie du Preez, Heinie Adams
Conversion: Derick Hougaard (4)
Penalty: Hougaard (3) Drop goal: Hougaard

Blues –
Tries – Troy Flavell
Conversion: Isa Nacewa
Penalty: Nacewa (4)



Bulls: 15 Johan Roets, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JP Nel, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Wikus van Heerden, 6 Pedrie Wannenburg, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Rayno Gerber, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Jaco Engels, 17 Danie Thiart, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Derick Ku’n, 20 Heinie Adams, 21 Morn’ Steyn, 22 Jaco van der Westhuyzen

Blues: 15 George Pisi, 14 Doug Howlett, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Rudi Wulf, 10 Isa Nacewa, 9 Steve Devine, 8 Jerome Kaino, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Angus Macdonald, 5 Troy Flavell (c), 4 Greg Rawlinson, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Derren Whitcombe, 17 Nick White, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Justin Collins, 20 Moa Taniela, 21 David Holwell, 22 Anthony Tuitavake.

Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Touch judges: Bradley Wahl (Australia), Linston Manuels (South Africa)
Television match official: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Assessor: Paul Ramsay

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.