Super Rugby

Blues make one change for Kaino’s final Super rugby match



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Blues Super rugby head coach Tana Umaga has named a team with one change for their final round Super rugby match against the champion Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

The match will be long-serving star Jerome Kaino final Super Rugby clash as the Blues cannot make the play offs and Kaino is leaving New Zealand after the season to play in France.

Kaino, will play his 139th game for the Blues on Saturday, to sit second on the all-time Blues list behind Keven Mealamu.

The Blues will not dwell on the 16 players not considered for selection with injury, nor the disappointing season, but focus on a quality performance against the best team in the Super conference.

“This game means a lot. We want to send Jerome off in the best possible fashion,” said coach Tana Umaga.

“We are going into a cauldron in Christchurch, but we have to go with eyes wide open and also take confidence from the game last week.

“We’ve worked on the areas that were pretty obvious in terms of our defence but there will be no lack of motivation to play against the Crusaders.

“Our forward effort was good last week but we know it needs to go another notch and I think some of the play by our backs, that in tough times they started to find their confidence.

“For us we have to do well on both sides of the ball. We had some individual lapses in defence and that’s something we’ve worked on.

“We need to stick to what we train. We need to be consistent in the execution of our plans and finish off opportunities when we create them. They are a quality side and have been for a long time but we are excited to get out there and do our best for us and for Jerome.”

The only change from the pack from last week is a start for Ben Nee-Nee after an injury to replacement Matiaha Martin ruled him out, while the backline remains the same.

Not considered because of injury: Otere Black (knee – season), George Moala (chest – season), Matt Johnson (surgery – season), Jimmy Tupou (knee – season), Josh Goodhue (concussion), Patrick Tuipulotu (shoulder – season), Glenn Preston (groin, season), Scott Scrafton (knee – season), Sonny Bill Williams (shoulder), Dalton Papalii (hamstring), Terrence Hepetema (back strain), Mike Tamoaieta (knee), Leni Apisai (hamstring), Jordan Trainor (hand), Lyndon Dunshea (shoulder), Matiaha Martin (shoulder), James Parsons (neck).


15. Matt Duffie, 14. Melani Nanai, 13. Michael Collins, 12. Rieko Ioane, 11. Caleb Clarke, 10. Stephen Perofeta, 9. Augustine Pulu ©; 8. Akira Ioane, 7. Blake Gibson, 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Ben Nee-Nee, 4. Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3. Ofa Tuungafasi, 2. Matt Moulds, 1. Alex Hodgman

Replacements: 16. Ross Wright, 17. Pauliasi Manu, 18. Sione Mafileo, 19. Jacob Pierce, 20. Murphy Taramai, 21. Sam Nock, 22. Bryn Gatland, 23. Tamati Tua.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.