Super Rugby

Blues make two changes for Reds




The Auckland based Blues have named their team to play the Reds in Brisbane and included lock Josh Bekhuis who will win his 100th Super Rugby cap.

Twenty-nine-year-old Bekhuis will become the 46th New Zealand player to chalk up 100 Super Rugby caps and the 11th player who has played for the Blues to reach the milestone.

He becomes just the fifth Kiwi player to reach the honour of 100 caps in Super Rugby and 100 caps in the national provincial competition.

It is his 18th game for the Blues after playing 82 times for the Highlanders.

The only change in the pack from the team named against the Hurricanes is the return of Patrick Tuipulotu to start at lock with Stephen Luatua moving back to No 8 and Akira Ioane to the bench.

Compelling form from All Blacks Sevens teenager Rieko Ioane has won him his first Super Rugby start on the right wing in an otherwise unchanged backline.


Ofa Tu’ungafasi, James Parsons, Charlie Faumuina, Patrick Tuipulotu, Josh Bekhuis, Jerome Kaino (c), Blake Gibson, Steven Luatua; Bryn Hall, Ihaia West, Tevita Li, George Moala, Male Sa’u, Rieko Ioane, Lolagi Visinia.

Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, Nic Mayhew, Sione Mafileo, Hoani Matenga, Kara Pryor, Akira Ioane, Billy Guyton, Matt McGahan.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.