Blues still on track for Super 14 play offs



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Blues stayed on track for a place in the Semi-finals beating the Reds 22-35 in Brisbane.


Crucially the Blues scored four tries earning them the bonus point which moved them up to sixth on the points table, one point behind the Sharks in fourth place and level with the Hurricanes who play the Lions tomorrow.


The Blues will however need some other results to go their way.

The Reds took control of the match in the second half and fought back from being down at half time with a score of 7-20 to lead the Blues 22-20.

The Reds score however shook the Blues into action and two minutes later Kurtis Haiu scored for the Blues to take the lead back.

The Blues however failed to convert the try with 15 minutes to go.

Evans kicked a penalty with five minutes to go to put the game out of reach for the Reds, and they added a late try by Taniela Moa to pick up the bonus point and move to 31 points on the season, one outside the top four.

The full time Score is Reds 22 Blues 35 





Tries – David Croft ,Van Humphries, Peter Hynes.

Pen – Clinton Schifcofske

Con -Clinton Schifcofske (2)



Tries – Jerome Kaino, Isa Nacewa, Kurtis Haiu, Taniela Moa

Pen – Nick Evans (3)

Con – Nick Evans (3)


Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Friday May 2
Referee : Jonathon Kaplan(South Africa),
Touch judges: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Geoff Acton (Australia)
Television match official: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Assessor: Scott Young (Australia)



(from fullback): Clinton Schifcofske, Digby Ioane, Morgan Turinui, Berrick Barnes, Peter Hynes, Quade Cooper, Ben Lucas, Leroy Houston, David Croft, Scott Higginbotham, James Horwill (c), Van Humphries, Dayna Edwards, Stephen Moore, Ben Coutts.
Reserves: Sean Hardman, Rodney Blake, Ed O’Donoghue, Poutasi Luafutu, Will Genia, Charlie Fetoai, Brando Va’aulu.


1-15 Tony Woodcock, Keven Mealamu, John Afoa, Anthony Boric, Troy Flavell (c), Jerome Kaino, Daniel Braid, Nick Williams, Taniela Moa, Isa Nacewa, Rudi Wulf, Isaia Toeava, Anthony Tuitavake, David Smith, Nick Evans.

Reserves: Nick White, Bronson Murray, Kurtis Haiu, Justin Collins, Danny Lee, Benson Stanley, Ben Atiga.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.