Blues still without a point after Rd. 2




The Blues had an off evening at Carisbrook on Friday night. They started well but after an early try by Nick Williams which was converted by McAlister and after that they never really fired. McAlister was taken off in the 25th minute with a possible broken jaw.

Once McAlister went off the flair and play making ability (or lack of it ) in the back line was shown up.

The Blues lineout was poor and the Blues lost 5 to the Highlanders. Ali Williams will need to improve if he is to continue being picked.

Given the talent that Nucifora has at his disposal the Blues have started very disappointingly. The big names in the backline should be firing a lot more. The Blues forwards only managed to get 47 % possession but even that should have given the backline enough to score one try early on.

The Blues handling errors also contributed to the loss as they racked up 17 versus the Highlanders 11.

The turning point in the match was the Delasau intercept try where he ran in from around the 80 metre mark This score came while the Highlanders were down to 14 men at the time and this gave the confidence the Highlanders needed to go on and win the match.

The contentious decision by the ref on the try would not have made a difference to the result and may have only earned the Blues a Bonus point at best.

The Blues now head to South Africa looking for their first win and point.

Final score Highlanders 25 Blues 13  (Ht 10 – 7)



Tom Donnelly
Vilimoni Delasau
Roy Kinikinilau

Evans (2)


Evans 2

Roy Kinikinilau


Nick Williams 1

McAlistair 1

Tasesa Lavea (2)



15 Ben Blair
14 Vilimoni Delasau
13 Neil Brew
12 Seilala Mapusua
11 Roy Kinikinilau
10 Nick Evans
9 Jimmy Cowan
8 Craig Newby
7 Josh Blackie
6 Hoani MacDonald
5 James Ryan
4. Tom Donnelly
3 Carl Hayman
2 Anton Oliver
1 Nick White


16 Jason Macdonald
17 Chris King
18 Filipo Levi
19 Tim Boys
20 Toby Morland
21 Callum Bruce
22 Richard Kahui


15. Isa Nacewa
14. Doug Howlett
13. Anthony Tuitavaike – Blues Debut
12. Luke McAlister
11. Joe Rokocoko
10. Tasesa Lavea
9. Steve Devine
8. Nick Williams
7. Daniel Braid
6. Justin Collins
5. Ali Williams
4. Greg Rawlinson
3. John Afoa
2. Keven Mealamu (Captain)
1. Tony Woodcock


16. Tim Dow
17. Saimone Taumoepeau
18. Kurtis Haiu
19. Anthony Boric
20. John Senio
21. Rua Tipoki
22. Vili Waqaseduadua

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.