Super Rugby

Blues v Rebels Rd.10 Super Rugby Preview




The first Super Rugby match in Round 10 on Saturday is in Auckland where the Blues host the Rebels at Eden Park.

The Blues had a bye last week but beat the Sharks in Auckland before that. That was the Blues third victory from seven matches this season.

The Rebels beat the Cheetahs at home in Melbourne in their last outing and that was their fifth victory from 8 matches.

The Rebels lead the Australian Conference with 22 points while the Blues have played one less match and are on 16 points.

The Blues have played the Rebels four times since 2011 and both teams have won two matches. The teams have met twice in New Zealand and the Blues have won both matches.

The average score when the Blues host the Reds is Blues 38 Rebels 28.

The Blues have named All Black Patrick Tuipulotu in their starting team for this match although he has been bracketed with Hoani Matenga. If he does play then he will be one of two changes to the side that beat the Sharks.

The only other change is George Moala coming into the starting line-up in place of the injured Rene Ranger.

The Rebels have made one change and Jamie Hagan gets his first start at Tighthead Prop for Laurie Weeks who is injured.

In all four of the matches between these two teams the team that was playing at home won. This year the Blues have won 2 out of their three matches at home.

The Bookies have given the Rebels an 8 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Blues should win this by two.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 5.

Average score: Blues 30 Rebels 33

Last five results
08 May 2015 Blues v Rebels 22-42 Melbourne
11 May 2013 Blues v Rebels 36-32 Auckland
05 Apr 2012 Blues v Rebels 23-34 Melbourne
22 Apr 2011 Blues v Rebels 40-23 North Harbour

Blues overall record against the Rebels
Played 4, Wins 2, Losses 2 , Draws 0

Match No.73:Blues v Rebels
Date : Saturday 30 April 2016
Venue : Eden Park, Auckland
Kick Off local: 17:15 local
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Brett Johnson
TMO :Ben Skeen



Lolagi Visinia, Rieko Ioane, George Moala, Piers Francis, Tevita Li, Ihaia West, Bryn Hall; Steven Luatua, Tanerau Latimer, Jerome Kaino, Josh Bekhuis, Patrick Tuipulotu or Hoani Matenga, Charlie Faumuina, James Parsons (v), Sam Prattley.

Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, Nic Mayhew or Namatahi Waa, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Akira Ioane, Kara Pryor, Billy Guyton, Matt McGahan, Melani Nanai or Matt Duffie.

Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Jamie Hagan , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12. Tamati Ellison , 13. Reece Hodge , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Jonah Placid

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Tim Metcher , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Colby Fainga’a , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Kotaro Matsushima , 23. Sione Tuipulotu

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.