Super Rugby

Crusaders beat Blues in Auckland




Auckland’s Blues host Super Rugby’s leaders the Crusaders at Eden Park in the second match on Saturday and they will be aiming to end a six match losing streak.

The Blues have played the Crusaders 30 times since 1996 and the Blues have won 11 matches and lost 19. That includes two finals – one win for each team in the finals.

  • The Crusaders have won their last six games on the bounce against the Blues, the longest winning streak in the history of the fixture.
  • Indeed, the Crusaders have won on their last two visits to Eden Park, having won there just once in their four visits prior.
  • Each of the Blues’ last five games has been won by the away team on the day, though the Auckland side has won just twice in that time (L3).
  • The Crusaders have missed the fewest tackles per game this season (19), and have the highest tackle success rate (86%).
  • Akira Ioane has beaten 55 defenders this campaign, more than any other player in the competition.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Fairly awful conditions in Auckland as heavy rain pours down over Eden Park.

0.01: The Crusaders kick off and the match is underway.

3.00: The ball is kicked high to the Crusaders. The Crusaders backs pass the ball through the hands despite the conditions and George Bridge slides in to score the opening TRY!

4.00: Richie Mo’unga adds the conversion.

7.00: Melani Nanai gets the ball for the Blues, Perofeta chips the ball across the field and it gets to Matt Duffie who races away and scores the Blues first TRY! 

8.00: Perofeta can’t add the conversion.

13.00: The Crusaders win a scrum and attack down the wing. Manasa Mataele chips and chases the ball but it goes into touch.

15.00: Penalty to the Crusaders. Mo’unga slots it and extends the lead.

21.00: The Crusaders work the ball to the line. They drive over the line under the posts and  Quinten Strange scores. TRY! 

22.00: Mo’unga adds the conversion from in front.

26.00: The Crusaders win the ball from a Blues line out in the Crusaders half. The Crusaders run the ball into the Blues 22. After 6 phases the Crusaders win a penalty for a dangerous tackle.

Penalties conceded : Blues 4 Crusaders 1.

27.00: The Crusaders kick for touch and the 5m line out.

28.00: The Crusaders win the line out, set up the maul and when it goes nowhere the whistle goes for another penalty. The Crusaders take another line out.

30.00: The Crusaders drive over the line and the try is awarded. TRY!

31.00: Mo’unga misses s the conversion. The Blues run ahead of the kicker so the Crusaders will have a scrum on the half way line.

36.00: The Blues find a hole in the Crusaders defence and take it. The Blues get to the 22m line and chip the ball ahead but the Crusaders get back and kick it back upfield.

37.00: Sonny Bill  gets into space and offloads to Melani Nanai who scores. TRY! The try will stand but the TMO checks some potential foul play before it is awarded. Nothing comes of the review. The try is awarded

38.00: Perofeta adds the conversion.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time but the Crusaders have set a maul and it drives forward to the line. Bryn Hall breaks off the back of it and scores. TRY! 

42.00; Mo’unga takes the conversion kick and nails it.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Blues 12 Crusaders 29

The Blues kick off and the second half is underway.

The Blues sustain some early pressure and then press the Crusaders back into their half.

45.00: The Blues win back to back scrum penalties against Wyatt Crockett on their 22. The Blues take the line out option.

46.00: The Blues win the line out and work the ball to the middle through 6 phases. The TMO is called upon to review some foul play. Quinten Strange  is yellow carded for lifting above the horizontal.

47.00: The Blues take a scrum, they suck the Crusaders defenders in and go wide where Rieko Ioane scores in the corner.

49.00: Perofeta takes the conversion from out wide but misses. An early chase from the Crusaders awards him a second chance kick. This time he nails it.

53.00: Penalty to the Crusaders. Mo’unga takes the shot and nails it.

57.00: Scrum penalty to the Crusaders. They will have another shot at the posts.

59.00: Mo’unga takes the kick from in front but well out. He misses.

63.00: The Blues go through the phases not really getting anywhere and then suddenly Rieko Ioane slips around Mataele and offloads to Michael Collins who scores. TRY! 

65.00: Perofeta misses the conversion.

72.00: Free kick from the scrum to the Crusaders. They choose to take another scrum. Crusaders appear to be happy to grind down the clock.

76.00: The Crusaders chip the ball to the Blues who run the ball back at them and then kick. Richie Mo’unga gets the ball and – unlike some of their recent actions – he runs with the ball for thee line and slides over to score. The TMO will review it. The TMO rules that the ball was lost forward. No try.

78.00: Rieko Ioane attacks from deep and delights the crowd as he gets to the half way line. The Crusaders get back and stop the attack and turn the ball over.

80.00: The siren sounds and Mo’unga wastes no time in kicking it out and into touch.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Blues 24 (12) Crusaders 32 (29)


Tries – M.Duffie, M.Nanai, R. Ioane, M.Collins
Pen –
Con – S.Perofeta 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – G.Bridge, Q.Strange 2, B.Hall
Pen – R.Mo’unga 2
Con – R.Mo’unga 3
Drop –
Cards -Q.Strange (yellow 45th min)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1: Cam Stone
Assistant Ref 2: Angus Mabey
TMO: Shane McDermott



15. Matt Duffie, 14. Melani Nanai, 13. Orbyn Leger, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 11. Rieko Ioane, 10. Stephen Perofeta, 9. Augustine Pulu ©; 8. Akira Ioane, 7. Dalton Papalii or Murphy Taramai, 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Matiaha Martin, 4. Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3. Ofa Tuungafasi, 2. James Parsons, 1. Pauliasi Manu.

Replacements: 16. Matt Moulds, 17. Ross Wright, 18. Sione Mafileo, 19. Ben Nee-Nee, 20. Murphy Taramai or Antonio Kiri Kiri, 21. Jonathan Ruru, 22. Dan Kirkpatrick, 23 Michael Collins.


1. Tim Perry, 2. Codie Taylor3. Owen Franks ,4. Scott Barrett , 5. Quinten Strange , 6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis , 7. Matt Todd (C), 8. Jordan Taufua, 9. Bryn Hall, 10. Richie Mo’unga , 11. George Bridge , 12. Ryan Crotty (VC) , 13. Jack Goodhue , 14. Seta Tamanivalu , 15. David Havili

Replacements : 16. Andrew Makalio,17. Wyatt Crockett ,18. Michael Alaalatoa , 19. Mitchell Dunshea ,20. Pete Samu , 21. Mitchell Drummond , 22. Mitchell Hunt , 23. Manasa Mataele

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.