Super Rugby

Blues beat Rebels in Auckland




The first Super Rugby match in Round 10 on Saturday is in Auckland where the Blues host the Rebels at Eden Park.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Rebels kick off and the match is underway.

2.00: The Rebels get the perfect start as they put the Blues under pressure in tehir 22. Tamati Ellison chips the ball through, James Parsons kicks the ball back but the Rebels pounce on it and score. TRY! Reece Hodge

3.00: Jack Debreczeni misses the conversion.

6.00: The Blues win a scrum and start their attack on the half way line. They go through 6 phases but then pass the ball forward.

8.00: Penalty to the Blues. Ihaia West will take a shot at goal. He lines up the kick and hits the post. The Blues follow up but tackle high and concede a penalty. The Rebels clear the ball into touch.

11.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the breakdown. Jack Debrezeni will kick for goal. He lines up the kick from just inside the Blues half and he nails it.

13.00: The Blues (Piers Francis) get the the ball away to Lolagi Visinia who races for the line but the Rebels just manage to keep them from scoring. Held up. The Blues get a 5m scrum though.

15.00: The Blues win the scrum and go through a couple of phases before James Parsons crashes over and scores. TRY!

15.00: Ihaia West adds the conversion.

17.00: Penalty to the Blues from the break down. West kicks for touch and the line out.

19.00: The Blues win the line out and attack with great intensity. They go wide and then come back to the forwards. Steven Luatua is just kept out but the Blues recycle and Jerome Kaino powers over. TRY!

20.00: West just misses the conversion.

22.00: The Blues almost get away to score again as Rieko Ioane slips off a tackle and make ground for the Blues. The ball is eventually taken into touch.

23.00: The Blues win the line out and use the maul and drive over and Charlie Faumuina scores. TRY!

25.00: West misses the conversion from out wide.

29.00: the Rebels win a penalty from 43m out. Debreczeni takes the kick and he nails it.

31.00: The Blues hit back from the kick off. Lutaua wins the ball back from the restart and after a couple of offloads the ball gets to Ihaia West who scores. TRY!

32.00: West adds the conversion.

36.00: The Rebels work the ball to the Blues tryline. They go through 10 phases but get stopped at the line. They go wide to the backs but the ball is lost and goes into touch.

38.00: The Rebels win the ball back from the line out. They drive over the line and Jordy Reid scores. TRY!

40.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion and its half time.

The Rebels have missed 18 tackles so far.

The half time score is Blues 24 Rebels 18

The Blues kick off and the second half is underway.

41.00: The Rebels fumble the ball after the opening ruck and they have to chase the ball and dot it down. This gives the Blues a 5m attacking scrum. The Blues win the scrum, move the ball wide and Tevita Li scores the fifth Blues TRY!

43.00: West takes the conversion kick but he just misses.

46.00: The Rebels put the Blues under some pressure in the Blues 22 after a line out. The ball goes dead though and the Blues get the scrum put in.

48.00: Jerome Kaino crashes through a Rebels line out and forces a knock on but swiftly ends a potential Rebels attacking move.  The Rebels win the scrum and run the ball. Initially they lose ground but then go wide.

49.00: The Rebels go through 9 phases but as they get to the Blues 22 they concede a penalty. The Blues clear the ball into touch.

51.00: Penalty to the Blues. It’s very kickable but West kicks to the corner.

53.00: The Blues win the line out and  they use the maul to draw the defenders in before they go wide and Lolagi Visinia slices through and scores. TRY! Four missed tackles in that from the Rebels.

53.00: West adds the conversion. Rebels missed tackle count is up to 22 while the Blues have missed 3.

58.00: The Rebels go through 11 phases on attack and it earns them a penalty. Its kickable but the Rebels choose the scrum.

61.00: The Blues win a penalty from the scrum and they kick for touch. The Blues win the line out and attack the Rebels from the half way line.

64.00: The Rebels attack (Sean McMahon) from a ruck and it gets them on the frontfoot. The Rebels work the ball across the field and  Colby Fainga’a slips over in the corner and scores. TRY!

65.00: The conversion is missed.

66.00: Tevita Li slices through the Rebels and almost scores. However the Rebels turn the ball over and Sefa Naivalu gets the ball and races for the line. No one can catch him and he scores. TRY!

67.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

71.00: The Blues are on the attack again. They get the ball into the Rebels 22 and kick wide as they have the advantage but the whistle goes.  The Blues get the will kick for posts. Piers Francis will take the shot. He misses.

76.00: The Rebels earn a penalty for holding on. They kick for touch and set up a line out on the Blues 22.

77.00: The Rebels win the line out and attack in the Blues 22. They go through 7 phases and win a penalty. The Rebels kick to the corner.

78.00: The Rebels win the line out. They set the maul. The Rebels get numbers in front of the ball and concede a penalty. Thats huge.

79.00: The Blues kick for touch and clear the ball.

80.00: The Blues win the ball back and they kick the ball into touch as the siren sounds.

The Blues have won.

The full time score is Blues 36 (24) Rebels 30 (18) 


Tries – J.Parsons, J.Kaino, C.Faumuina, I.West, T.Li, L.Visinia,
Pen –
Con – I.West 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -R.Hodge, J.Reid,  C.Fainga’a, S.Naivalu
Pen – J.Debreczeni 2
Con – J.Debreczeni
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Brett Johnson
TMO :Ben Skeen



Lolagi Visinia, Rieko Ioane, George Moala, Piers Francis, Tevita Li, Ihaia West, Bryn Hall; Steven Luatua, Tanerau Latimer, Jerome Kaino, Josh Bekhuis, Patrick Tuipulotu, Charlie Faumuina, James Parsons (v), Sam Prattley.

Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, Nic Mayhew , Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Akira Ioane, Kara Pryor, Billy Guyton, Matt McGahan, Melani Nanai or Matt Duffie.

Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Jamie Hagan , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12. Tamati Ellison , 13. Reece Hodge , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Jonah Placid

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Tim Metcher , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Colby Fainga’a , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Kotaro Matsushima , 23. Sione Tuipulotu

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.