Super Rugby

Blues beat Sharks in Auckland




Super Rugby Round 8 on Saturday kicks off in Auckland, New Zealand where the Blues host the Sharks.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

There is a moment of silence for Kurtis Haiu who passed away earlier this week.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

.001: Ihaia West kicks off and we are underway.

1.00: The Blues win the ball back after the kick off. The Blues run the ball pressing the Sharks back into their half.

2.00: The Blues go through eight phases but then they knock on. Scrum to the Sharks.

3.00: The Sharks win the first scrum and they chip ahead. The Blues get the ball and they attack. The Blues have the advantage and play on. 6 phases and they play on.

4.00: Eventually the Blues are called back for the penalty. West will take a shot at the posts.

5.00: West takes the kick and nails it. The Blues lead.

6.00: Etienne Oosthuizen is caught offside in the Blues 22. Penalty to the Blues. West kicks for touch.

7.00:The Sharks win the line out and run at the Blues. Lwazi Mvovo makes ground on the wing but chips the ball away and the Blues get to the ball and kick it into touch.

8.00: The Sharks keep the ball alive on attack on the Blues 22. The Sharks set up their back line to attack on the 5m line but Tendai Mtawarira gets the ball and powers over the line when everyone was expecting the ball to go wide. TRY!

10.00: Joe Pietersen misses the conversion. Sharks lead.

14.00: The Sharks are coming much more into the game. The Blues front row drives up and concedes a penalty. Petersen will take a kick for posts.

15.00: Petersen takes the kick and nails it.

18.00: The scrum collapses in the Sharks 22 but they get the ball out in time and Petersen kicks well upfield. The Blues look to run the ball back on attack from the half way line.

21.00: The Blues continue to attack the Sharks but as they get into the Sharks half they are pushed into touch.

22.00: The Blues turn the ball over and Ihaia West boots the ball upfield but it goes too far so everyone goes back for the scrum.

24.00: Mistakes coming into the game from both sides. Scrum time. The Blues win a scrum in their 22, they run the ball out and then pass the ball back into the 22 and West kicks upfield. The Sharks boot it back so the Blues boot it back again. The Sharks kick back and the Blues run it this time.

27.00: The Blues press the Sharks back into their 22. After a display of handling skills and miracle passes the Blues kick wide for James Parsons on the wing but the ball goes into touch.

29.00: The Blues are in full attack mode now. They continue to make ground against the Sharks but they can’t finish it off as they get pushed into touch.

30.00: The Blues win the line out in the Sharks 22. They run the ball wide. Rene Ranger is caught and the Blues change sides. The Sharks turn the ball over and chip ahead. The Blues chase and then knock on. The Sharks have a penalty for obstruction and will go for posts.

31.00: There is a break in play for Ranger. The medics are on. Petersen takes the shot as Ranger hobbles off and is replaced by George Moala.

33.00: Petersen nails the penalty.

34.00: The Blues get the ball to the line. West goes over but can’t get it down. Moala goes again and scores. TRY!

36.00: West slots the conversion and its a one point match.

38.00: Willie le Roux kicks the ball upfield. Ihaia West lets the ball run and allows it to go into touch. Blues get the line out but on the 5m line.

39.00: The Blues win the line out and then a penalty. West kicks for touch.

40.00: The half time siren sounds. The Blues win the line out but knock on. It is half time.

The half time score is Blues 10 Sharks 11

The Sharks kick off and the second half is underway.

41.00: The Sharks get the perfect start as Willie Le Roux gets through a gap and passes to Paul Jordaan who scores. TRY!

42.00: Petersen adds the conversion.

46.00: The Blues go through six phases gradually gaining ground but then Moala kicks the ball into touch.

50.00: The Blues win a penalty inside the Sharks half. West lines up the kick and takes the shot. He misses.

52.00: The Blues win a line out on the half way line. The Sharks defence is tight. Parsons gets through for a short run and he offloads. The Blues chip the ball ahead and into touch.

55.00: Penalty to the Blues. West line up again. This one he nails.

58.00: The Sharks get back on the attack and go through 7 phases. They get the ball into the Blues 22 but then knock on.

59.00: Blues captain James Parsons comes off. Kaino takes over the captaincy. Keegan Daniel comes on.

63.00: The second half of this match has been a bit pedestrian compared to the first half. Scrums are taking an age to complete.

65.00: The Blues pass the ball down the line on the half way line and Rieko Ioane gets the ball and runs around the Sharks forwards and races for the line and scores in the corner. TRY!

66.00: West slots the conversion and the Blues lead. He gets the biggest cheer of the day from the crowd.

69.00: The Sharks win a penalty after a line out in their half. They kick for touch.

70.00: The Sharks win the line out but the Blues turn the ball over and kick upfield. The Sharks counter attack.

71.00: The Sharks roll the Blues back towards their tryline. They get to about 10m out and the Blues turn the ball over. The Sharks scramble and stop the attack before they get to the half way line. West boots the ball upfield.

73.00: After a series of territorial kicks from both sides the ball goes into touch inside the Blues half.

74.00: The Sharks throw the ball in – straight to the Blues. The Blues then win a penalty. They kick for touch.

76.00: The Blues win a kickable penalty after the line out. West lines up the kick. He misses but it has used up time.

78.00: The Blues have the ball on attack in the Sharks half. They are going through the phases – up to 10 – winding down the clock.

79.00: The Sharks go offside. Penalty to the Blues.

80.00: West takes the kick and nails it.

The Blues have won.

The full time score is Blues 23 (10) Sharks 18 (11)


Tries -G.Moala ,R.Ioane
Pen – I.West 3
Con – I.West 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – T.Mtawarira, P.Jordaan
Pen – J.Petersen 2
Con – J.Petersen
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 2:Paul Williams
TMO : Ben Skeen



Lolagi Visinia, Rieko Ioane, Rene Ranger, Piers Francis, Tevita Li, Ihaia West, Bryn Hall; Steven Luatua, Tanerau Latimer or Kara Pryor, Jerome Kaino, Josh Bekhuis, Hoani Matenga, Charlie Faumuina, James Parsons (c), Sam Prattley.

Replacements : Quentin MacDonald, Namatahi Waa, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Kara Pryor or Joe Edwards, Akira Ioane, Billy Guyton, Matt McGahan, George Moala.


15. Willie le Roux , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Joe Pietersen , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Philip van der Walt , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Daniel du Preez , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira (C)

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Coenie Oosthuizen , 19. Hyron Andrews , 20. Keegan Daniel , 21. Michael Claassens , 22. Garth April , 23. Odwa Ndungane

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.