Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Blues beat Waratahs in Auckland

Live Scoring Super Rugby - Live super rugby scores

Live Scoring Super Rugby - Live super rugby scores

The Blues have played the Waratahs 23 times in Super rugby since 1996 and they have won 15 matches and lost 8.

The Blues 15 wins over the Waratahs give them a record of winning 65% of their matches against the Waratahs regardless of the venue.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Blues kick off and the match is underway. The Waratahs kick the ball out on the full after a couple of phases so the Blues will have an early attacking line out.

1.00: The Blues win the line out and attack the Waratahs in their 22.

2.00: The Blues put the Waratahs under pressure and it wins them a penalty. Otere Black will have a shot at the posts.

3.00: Black nails the penalty. The Blues lead.

5.00; The Waratahs work the ball into the Blues 22 but then concede a penalty. The Blues kick for touch and take the line out for the penalty.

7.00; Blake Gibson dives for a ball and appears to have injured himself. The game is paused while he gets some medical help. He has to leave the field. Dalton Papalii is on.

8.00: The Blues win a line out and put the Waratahs under pressure. The Blues go wide after some big runs from the big power forwards and the ball gets to Tom Robinson who scores in the corner. TRY! 

9.00: Black takes the conversion from out wide near the touchline – he nails it.

12.00: The Waratahs muscle up and try to drive the ball forward on the Blues 22m line. The Blues respond and hold them out. It wins the Blues the scrum put in.

15.00: The Blues come away with the ball from a line out in the Waratahs 22. They recycle the ball slowly and then go wide with pace and Ma’a Nonu slips a ball to Caleb Clarke who scores under the posts.

16.00: Black adds the conversion.

21.00: The Blues win a line out on the half way line. They go through a couple of phases but the Waratahs turn the ball over and kick it well into the Blues 22.

23.00: The Waratahs win a penalty on the Blues 22m line. Foley kicks for touch and sets up an attacking line out on 5m line.

24.00: The Waratahs kick wide and high for Israel Folau who jumps high in the air, grabs the ball and drops to the ground to score. TRY! Folau is now the all time high try scorer in Super rugby with 60 tries.

25.00: Foley slots the conversion.

29.00: The Waratahs attack the Blues in their 22. The Waratahs kick wide for Cameron Clark and he passes to Folau who almost gets through but is tackled into touch. The Waratahs are called back for a penalty and they choose the line out.

30.00: The Waratahs win the line out and try to drive the maul over the line but the Blues defend and kill the maul – and win the put in when the ball goes dead.

36.00: The Waratahs win a penalty on the Blues 5m line. They kick for touch and take the line out as their option.

37.00: The Waratahs win the line out, set up the maul and drive over the line. Lots of players over the line but it looks like it was Will Miller who scored.

39.00: Foley takes the conversion kick and nails it from near the touchline.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. It is half time.

The half time score was Blues 17 Waratahs 14

The Waratahs kick off and the second half is underway.

44.00: The Waratahs concede a penalty for a shoulder tackle. Otere Black kicks to the corner to set up a line out.

46.00: The Blues win the line out and start to flirt with the try-line. They have several goes at the line and the try comes when  TJ Faiane dives for the line and gets the ball on it. TRY!

48.00: Black misses the conversion.

53.00: The Waratahs rumble the ball to the Blues tryline but the Blues hold strong and keep them out.

54.00: The Waratahs get field position and Folau sucks in a couple of defenders and offloads to Alex Newsome who scores in the corner. TRY! 

56.00; Foley adds the conversion.

59.00: The Waratahs win a line out but then lose a ball in the tackle, the ball is passed back down the Tahs line to Rieko Ioane who offloads to Ma’a Nonu and he races away and dives for the line to score. TRY! 

60.00: Black adds the conversion.

63.00: Penalty to the Waratahs in front. Foley takes the shot and nails it.

65.00: The Blues work the ball down into the Waratahs 22. Akira Ioane drives over the line and scores. The TMO will check it as the Waratahs claim there was a knock on. No try. Knock on. The Blues get a penalty though.

67.00: Black takes the penalty kick and slots it.

70.00: Kurtley Beale has a run for the Waratahs in the Blues half but he is caught by the Blues.

75.00: The Waratahs want this. Replacement Jake Gordon snipes from the scrum and races to the line and scores. TRY! 

76.00: Foley takes the conversion but misses.

77.00: The Blues have the ball on the half way line.

78.00: The Blues are keeping the ball tight in the forwards. They are going through the phases. 13 and on they go.

79.00: 18 phases and on the Blues go through the phases. 19 phases. The Blues are just winding the clock down.

80.00: The siren sounds. 21 phases and the Blues win a penalty.

The Blues kick the ball into touch to end the match and win !

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Blues 32 (17) Waratahs 29 (14)


Tries – T.Robinson, C, Clarke, TJ Faiane, M.Nonu
Pen -O.Black 2
Con – O.Black 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – I.Folau, W.Miller,A.Newsome, J.Gordon
Pen – B.Foley
Con – B.Foley 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Federico Anselmi
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Glen Jackson
TMO : Glenn Newman



15 Melani Nanai, 14 Caleb Clarke, 13 TJ Faiane, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Otere Black, 9 Jonathan Ruru, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson (co-captain), 6 Tom Robinson, 5 Josh Goodhue, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu (co-captain), 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 James Parsons, 1 Alex Hodgman

Replacements: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Marcel Renata, 18 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 19 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 20 Dalton Papalii, 21 Sam Nock, 22 Harry Plummer, 23 Michael Collins


15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Will Miller, 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes

Replacements: 16 Andrew Tuala, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Lachlan Swinton, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Lalakai Foketi

Exit mobile version