Blues win battle of the colours




The Reds have been a revelation this year. Their coach, Eddie Jones, has been talking a good game. Luckily for him his team has backed that up with some very impressive performances.


This was not one of those improved performances. The Reds did not appear to be the same team that has impressed so far this year.


The Reds had just scored their second penalty and on the restart Blues captain Troy Flavell got the ball and made a break which saw the Blues Rudi Wulf dive over in the corner to score the Blues first try of the night.


Luke McAlister then slotted a 46 metre penalty to put the Blues further ahead.


On the stroke of half time the Reds were awarded a penalty and they went for posts but the ball went wide.


In the second half  Nacewa scored a try and McAlister has been taking the kicks.


The Blues continue to dominate the Reds in the second half and Rudi Wulf  scored his second try of the night for the Blues.


The Reds have fought back scoring an intercept try by Charlie Fetoai and Clinton Schifcofske converted.


Minutes from full time Jerome Kaino scored the Blues fourth try to earn the Blues a bonus point. Nacewa coverted.


Missed tackles cost the Reds dearly in this match with the Reds missing 25 tackles to the Blues 6.


Full time score is Blues 38 Reds 13.


Blues –
Penalty – Isa Nacewa, Luke McAlister (3)
Tries – Rudi Wulf (2),Isa Nacewa,Jerome Kaino
Conv –  Isa Nacewa (2) ,McAlister

Penalty – Clinton Schifcofske (2)
Tries – Charlie Fetoai
Conv – Schifcofske


Blues: 15 Ben Atiga, 14 Doug Howlett, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Anthony Tuitavake, 10 Isa Nacewa, 9 Steve Devine, 8 Jerome Kaino, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Justin Collins, 5 Troy Flavell (captain), 4 Greg Rawlinson, 3 John Afoa, 2 Derren Witcombe, 1 Saimone Taumoepeau
Replacements: 16 Chris Heard, 17 Nick White, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Angus Macdonald, 20 David Gibson, 21 Sam Tuitupou, 22 Rudi Wulf

Reds squad:

Forwards: Ole Avei, Rodney Blake, Mitchell Chapman, Ben Coutts, David Croft, Sean Hardman, Herman Hunt, James Horwill, Tom McVerry, Ed O’Donoghue, John Roe (c), Cam Treloar

Backs: Berrick Barnes, Caleb Brown, Nic Berry, Quade Cooper, Charlie Fetoai, Will Genia, Peter Hynes, Clinton Schifcofske, Ben Tune, Brando Va’alu, Henari Veratau

Referee: Willie Roos (South Africa)
Touch judges: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Brent Murray (New Zealand)
Television match official: Chris Rooney (New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.