Rugby Championship News

Boks change three for Wallabies who reshuffle





South Africa coach Jake White has made three changes and one positional switch to his starting line-up for the Tri-Nations opening clash against Australia on Saturday, expecting the Wallabies to come back in force after last weekend’s loss.

“This is the start of a new competition and I know the Aussies will be out to prove that they can play much better than last week.” said SA coach Jake White.

“They are an experienced side with a strong belief and will definitely bounce back, so we will have to show the same commitment and composure,” White said.

Australia have made four changes for Saturday’s Tri Nations opener against South Africa in Pretoria, with Matt Dunning, John Roe, Morgan Turinui and Daniel Vickerman coming into the starting line-up.

Dunning will replace Al Baxter at tighthead prop for his second start in the position this season, while at lock, Mark Chisholm makes way for the more experienced Vickerman, who came off the bench in the second half against the Springboks last week.

At blindside flanker, Roe has been rewarded for his consistency and commitment at training and comes into the starting line-up at the expense of Rocky Elsom, while at outside centre Morgan Turinui replaces Stirling Mortlock.

South Africa

15. Percy Montgomery; 14. Breyton Paulse: 13. Jaque Fourie; 12. Jean de Villiers; 11. Bryan Habana; 10. Andre Pretorius; 9. Fourie du Preez; 8. Jacques Cronje; 7. Juan Smith; 6. Joe van Niekerk; 5. Victor Matfield; 4. Bakkies Botha; 3. CJ van der Linde; 2. John Smit (captain), 1. Gurthro Steenkamp.

Replacements: 16. Gary Botha; 17. Lawrence Sephaka; 18. Albert van den Berg; 19. Schalk Burger; 20. Ricky Januarie; 21. Wayne Julies; 22. Jaco van der Westhuyzen.


Chris Latham; Wendell Sailor, Morgan Turinui, Matt Giteau, Lote Tuqiri; Stephen Larkham, George Gregan (capt); David Lyons, George Smith, John Roe, Nathan Sharpe, Daniel Vickerman, Matt Dunning, Jeremy Paul, Bill Young

Replacements: Stephen Moore, Al Baxter, Mark Chisholm, Phil Waugh, Chris Whitaker, Stirling Mortlock, Drew Mitchell

Kick off: 1300 GMT

Referee: Paul Honiss

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.