Bonus point Cheetahs blow Stormers away



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Cheetahs won their second Super Rugby match of the 2014 season when they beat the Stormers 35-22 with a bonus point in Bloemfontein.

The Cheetahs outscored the Stormers by five tries to three in the contest and they take five points in the standings while the Stormers take nothing.

The result moves the Cheetahs above the Stormers who drop down to the bottom of the South African Conference and the overall standings.

The 2011 and 2012 South African Conference winning Stormers now only have two home wins to show from their nine matches after nine matches so far this season.

The Stormers’have played six matches away from home and lost all six and have also lost one of their three home matches.

The Cheetahs have played ten matches and have also yet to win away from home but in their’five home matches so far they have won’two and drawn one.

The Stormers started at a frantic pace and put the Cheetahs under immense pressure
early on. It paid dividends as early as the fourth minute when a solid scrum
five metres from the hosts’ goal line resulted in a try for flanker Nizaam Carr,
that fly half Peter Grant converted.

That put the Cheetahs on the back foot and the pressure applied resulted in
ill discipline by the hosts. Grant kicked a penalty in the 12th minute after
the repeatedly Cheetahs infringed, giving the Stormers a handy early
lead of 10-0.

The Cheetahs finally got on the board after a helter skelter first 15 minutes,
when play maker Willie le Roux used the advantage and gave a cross kick that
full back Hennie Daniller caught and rounded of for the hosts first try.

Fly half Elgar Watts missed with the conversion, but suddenly the Cheetahs
were back in the game.

In the space two minutes the hosts scored again, this time after a snipe by
Le Roux lead to a break by flanker Heinrich Brussow.

The latter handed off to centre Rayno Benjamin, timing the pass brilliantly
to help draw the scores level at 10 points each.

The Cheetahs took the lead for the first time when Watts kicked a penalty in
the 27th minute after missing the two earlier conversions.

In the remaining ten minutes before the break, both sides produced some exciting
running rugby.

It was the hosts that fared better however, with Springbok Le Roux dotting
down in the 33rd minute and Watts converting to give the Cheetahs a comfortable
lead of ten points, going into half time with a score of 20-10.

The pressure applied by the Cheetahs, especially in the scrums, led to a series
of penalties against the Stormers and Watts kicked another penalty in the 56th
minute to open up the lead to 13 points for the Cheetahs.

The Stormers nearly closed the gap through a try by centre Juan de Jongh, but
it was disallowed because of obstruction by the visitors.

The Stormers scored another try however when Super Rugby debutante Devon Williams
went over after a scrum by the Stormers. Grant missed the conversion.

Replacement winger Cornal Hendricks scored the bonus point try for the Cheetahs
after turnover possession and a run of nearly 80 meters.

Soon after Springbok prop Trevor Nyakane got his five pointer for the hosts.

Stormers captain and centre Jean de Villiers scored a consolation try near
the end, but it still meant that the visitors returned home empty handed with
regards to bonus points.

Final Score Cheetahs’35 (20) Stormers’22 (10)


Tries – H.Daniller, R.Benjamin, W. Le Roux, C.Hendricks, T. Nyakane
Pen – E.Watts 2
Con – E.Watts 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – N.Carr. D.Williams, J.De Villiers
Pen – P.Grant
Con – P.Grant,. K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2: Francois de Bruin
TMO: Johan Greeff



1 Caylib Oosthuizen ,2 Adriaan Strauss (c ) ,3 Maks van Dyk ,4 Andries Ferreira ,5 Francois Uys ,6 Heinrich Brussow ,7 Jean Cook ,8 Boom Prinsloo ,9 Sarel Pretorius ,10 Elgar Watts ,11. Willie le Roux ( vc ) ,12′ Ryno Benjamin ,13 Johann Sadie ,14 Raymond Rhule ,15 Hennie Daniller

Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld ,17. Trevor Nyakane ,18. Rossouw de Klerk ,19. Vermeulen ,20. Teboho Mohoje ,21. Shaun Venter ,22. Riaan Smit ,23. Cornal Hendricks


15. Jaco Taute , 14. Damian de Allende , 13. Juan de Jongh , 12. Jean de Villiers (captain) , 11. Devon Williams (On starting debut for the Stormers) , 10. Peter Grant , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (vice-captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Michael Rhodes , 4. Ruan Botha , 3. Frans Malherbe , 2. Deon Fourie , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: , 16. Stephan Coetzee , 17. Oliver Kebble , 18. Brok Harris , 19. Jurie van Vuuren , 20. Schalk Burger , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Kobus van Wyk

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.