Bonus point Cheetahs smash Sharks


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Cheetahs who are in last place on the Super 14 table smashed the table topping Sharks 31-6 in round nine of the Super 14 on Saturday.


The loss was the Sharks second of the season after they lost earlier in the season to the Reds who are second last on the table.


The Cheetahs defence was outstanding as they outscored the Sharks by four tries to nil.

Springbok winger Jongi Nokwe scored two tries for the home side while winger Bjorn Basson scored the Cheetahs third and replacement Kabamba Floors scored the bonus point try.


The Sharks could only muster two penalty kicks for the whole match.


The victory ended a 12 match losing streak for the Cheetahs that stretched back to the 12th of April 2008 – almost a year to the day.


It was also the first time in the 2009 season that the Cheetahs claimed a bonus point for scoring four tries.


Although it was a team effort, tough Cheetahs’ flanker Heinrich Br’ssow was at the forefront of everything good the Cheetahs had to offer.


Judging by the confidence in the Cheetahs’ game, one would nt think this was only their first win of the season.

It started fairly even with both sides putting together several phases on attack in the first 20 minutes, but then kept each other out with good defence.

The first points went to the Sharks in the 16th minute when the Cheetahs were penalized for an offence in the tackle and Sharks scrumhalf Rory Kockott kicked a penalty. The scale had to swing one way, but not many would have predicted the Cheetahs to take the initiative.

The Sharks started giving away needless free kicks and on one such occasion a quick tap kick saw Cheetahs fly half Jacques-Louis Potgieter gather the ball in space. He shrugged of a defender and skillfully put the flying Jongi Nokwe away in the corner.

Potgieters’ touchline conversion put the Cheetahs 7-3 up. Soon after the Sharks nearly scored through Stefan Terblanche, but again the Cheetahs’ defence was up to the task.

The Cheetahs applied the most pressure for the rest of the half, stealing line out ball and holding onto possession.

The Sharks gave away another unnecessary penalty shortly before half time when a Cheetahs player chasing a kick was held back. Potgieter was spot on again and the Cheetahs led 10-3 at the break.

The Sharks’ were in desperate need of some energy in their game.

The Cheetahs energy mostly came from players like Br’ssow, Hendro Scholtz (eighth man) and Wayne van Heerden (lock).

Shortly after half time the home side nearly stretched their lead after a good counter attack from fullback Hennie Daniller.

That made the Sharks eager to get going and Kockott kicked a penalty after 46 minutes and then hit the upright with another attempt soon after.

But in the log leaders’ over-eagerness they lost possession whilst on attack to the Cheetahs’ Van Heerden, who offloaded to Br’ssow – the latter setting off on a strong run.

Outside him was Nokwe once more, who sped away from Ryan Kankowski on cross defence to score his brace. The Cheetahs had another speedster on the other wing in Bjorn Basson, who was a late replacement for the injured Danwel Demas.

Basson also put on a good show and was next to score when he got the ball in space after a centre field scrum on the Sharks 22 metre line.

The Sharks just couldn’t get switched on and were also getting a smashing at the breakdowns from Br’ssow and co.

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotsk’ brought on fresh legs and to the disbelief of the local crowd the Sharks were now also starting to fall off tackles.

Replacement Kabamba Floors was the beneficiary of more bad tackling as he tip-toed and dummied through the Sharks’ defence with ten minutes to go.


Final Score Cheetahs 31 Sharks 6


Tries -Jongi Nokwe 2, Bjorn Basson, Kabamba Floors
Penalties -Jacques-Louis Potgieter
Conversions -Jacques-Louis Potgieter 3,Tewus de Bruyn
Drop Goals –

Tries –
Penalties -Rory Kockott 2
Conversions –
Drop Goals –


Match Officials
Referee: Nathan Pearce (Aus)
Ass. Refs: Marius Jonker (SA), Damien Mitchelmore (Aus)
TMO: Michael Cupido (SA)
Assessor: Arrie Schoonwinkel (SA)


Cheetahs: Hennie Daniller; Bjorn Basson, Corne Uys, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Tewis de Bruyn; Hendro Scholtz, Juan Smith (capt.), Heinrich Br’ssow, David de Villiers, Wayne van Heerden, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Reserves: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, Nico Breedt, Kabamba Floors, Sarel Pretorius, Piet van Zyl, Fabian Juries.


Sharks : Stefan Terblanche; Odwa Ndungane, Adrian Jacobs, Riaan Swanepoel, Luzuko Vulindlu; Francois Steyn, Rory Kockott; Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, Jacques Botes, Johann Muller (captain), Albert van den Berg, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit, Deon Carstens.

Reserves: Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, Steven Sykes, Skholiwe Ndlovu, Charl McLeod, Monty Dumond, Chris Jordaan.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.