Bonus point Waratahs brush Reds aside


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Waratahs extended their winning streak in Super Rugby to seven straight
matches when they beat the Reds 3-34 with a bonus point in Brisbane.

The seventh straight win is a record in Super Rugby for the Waratahs.

The victory is the Waratahs 12th of the 2014 Super Rugby and they have a bye
next week before they host a Semi-final in two weeks.

Kurtley Beale scored two tries and created a try for fullback Jono Lance as
the Waratahs eased to their second victory over the Queensland in 2014.

The Waratahs beat the Reds 32-5 in Sydney in the third round of the competition
this year.

Scrum half Nick Phipps scored the Waratahs bonus point try in the 73rd minute
although the bonus point will mean little as the Sydney franchise had already
secured the top spot and a home semi-final.

The contest was a typically physical clash between the New South Wales and
Queensland Super Rugby teams with the Reds coming off worst in the injury stakes
as well as the score.

The Reds lost Ben Lucas and Ben Tapuai to injury early in the match and just
before full time Ben Daley had to be helped from the field with an arm injury.

The Waratahs went into the match without their star fullback Israel Folau
who had a thigh injury. Folau has already scored 12 tries this season and with
him the Tahs score an average of 10 points more per match.

In Folau’s absence former Wallaby fullback Beale – playing at centre – took
a step up and shone and injected the visitors back line spark.

Beale provided the crucial pass to Lance in the 12th minute which opened the
Waratahs scoring and then three minutes later he scored one for himself.

By half time the Waratahs were in control of the match and led 3-17.

Fifteen minutes into the second halfBeale put in a kick from his own half which
was collected by his midfield partner Adam Ashley-Cooper and winger Taqele Naiyaravoro
raced away removing several defenders. Brendan McKibbin and Stephen Hoiles made
quick passes bring the ball to the centre of the field in front of the posts
where Beale collected and went over for his second.

The try was an example of how much the Waratahs have come to trust each other
and how the team is involved in scoring their tries.

The Bonus point try came after Naiyaravoro broke through the Reds defence and
set up Phipps who raced for the corner to score next to the flag.

The home side were unable to cross the try line in the match and had to settle
for a single first half penalty from Mike Harris who will play for the Rebels
in Melbourne next season.

The Reds finish the season with five wins from sixteen matches compared to
last year when they won 10, drew 2 and lost five under Ewen McKenzie.

Final ScoreReds 3 (3) Waratahs’34 (17)


Tries –
Pen – M.Harris
Con –
Drop –
Cards – Sam Johnson (60th min yellow)

Tries – J.Lance, K.Beale 2, N. Phipps.
Pen – B.Foley 2
Con – B.Foley 4
Drop –
Cards – S.Kepu (28th min yellow)

Match Officials
Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO:George Ayoub



1. James Slipper, 2. James Hanson, 3. Greg Holmes, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. James Horwill (C), 6. Curtis Browning, 7. Beau Robinson, 8. Jake Schatz, 9. Scott Gale (run-on debut), 10. Ben Lucas, 11. Lachie Turner, 12. Ben Tapuai, 13. Samu Kerevi, 14. Rod Davies, 15. Mike Harris

Replacements : 16. Saia Fainga’a, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Albert Anae, 19. Dave McDuling, 20. Liam Gill (potential 50th Queensland cap), 21. Sam Johnson, 22. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 23. Chris Kuridrani (potential debut)


1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Will Skelton 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Cam Crawford .

Replacements (one to be omitted): 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Michael Ala’alatoa , 19. Jacques Potgieter , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon , 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Jono Lance , 24.Taqele Naiyaravoro .

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.