Botha, Taione & Steyn back in Sharks squad


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Dick Muir has named his 24-man touring squad to play the Waratahs in the Super 14 semi-final this Saturday.


The second-placed Waratahs host the third-placed Sharks at Sydney Football Stadium on Saturday at 12 noon (SA time).

Muir has taken 15 forwards and nine backs, with the likes of Keegan Daniel and Epi Taione able to fill in wherever needed in the loose – should that be in the forwards or amongst the backs.

Taione, the big Tongan Rugby World Cup star, is back in Durban after being released from his contract early, and back from injury are BJ Botha and Francois Steyn who both missed Saturday’s epic showdown against the Chiefs.

With the prop and centre back from injury, this is the same match 22 apart from Taione who takes over from Andries Strauss in what can only be regarded as a positive in terms of continuity.

The Sharks will have taken a huge amount of confidence out of their 47 – 25 victory over the Chiefs and will be backing themselves against a Waratahs team who beat them in Sydney three weeks ago.

Full Sharks Touring Squad:

1. Beast Mtawarira
2. Deon Carstens
3. Brendon Botha
4. Jannie du Plessis
5. Bismarck du Plessis
6. Craig Burden
7. Albert van den Berg
8. Johann Muller
9. Steven Sykes
10. Epi Taione
11. AJ Venter
12. Keegan Daniel
13. Jacques Botes
14. Ryan Kankowski
15. Jean Deysel
16. Ruan Pienaar
17. Rory Kockott
18. Francois Steyn
19. Bradley Barritt
20. Waylon Murray
21. Adrian Jacobs
22. JP Pietersen
23. Odwa Ndungane
24. Stefan Terblanche

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.