Super Rugby

Brumbies forced into change for Waratahs


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Brumbies have named their Super Rugby team to play the Waratahs with a number of enforced changes for the match in Sydney.

In their last outing the Brumbies were beaten by the Chiefs and since then David Pocock has been suspended for two matches and Ita Vaea has retired due to health reasons.

As a result Jarrad Butler returns for the first time since the Brumbies round three clash against the Western Force and will start the match at openside flanker.

Butler has missed the Brumbies passed three matches due to a knee injury suffered at training in Cape Town.

Jordan Smiler will start the match at No.8, replacing Vaea. Smiler, a versatile backrower has played in all of the #Brumbies matches in 2016 and started in the No.8 jersey in the Brumbies round three clash against the Stormers in Cape Town, following the injury to Butler.

With both Butler and Smiler starting, rookie Michael Wells returns to the bench. He made a brief appearance against the Stormers in Cape Town to record his Super Rugby debut and will return to Sydney for the first time since linking with the Brumbies on an Extended Playing Squad contract.

The Brumbies will be looking to bounce back following the 48-23 loss to the #Chiefs two weeks ago.

Ben Alexander will become the Brumbies third most-capped player in history when he takes to the field. He currently sits equal with Stirling Mortlock with 123 appearances for the ACT-based franchise.

Alexander made his Super Rugby debut in round three of the 2008 Super Rugby season against the Queensland Reds, scoring a try after coming on as a replacement. He scored his 20th Super Rugby try against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein in round five of the 2016 competition.


Scott Sio , Stephen Moore (c) , Ben Alexander , Rory Arnold , Sam Carter , Scott Fardy , Jarrad Butler , Jordan Smiler , Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c) , Joe Tomane , Matt Toomua , Tevita Kuridrani , Robbie Coleman , Aidan Toua

Replacements : Josh Mann-Rea , Allan Alaalatoa , Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin , Tom Staniforth , Michael Wells , Joe Powell , James Dargaville , Nigel Ah Wong

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.