Super Rugby

Brumbies go top after beating Fijian Drua




Brumbies beat Fijian Drua 12-33 to go back on top of Super Rugby Pacific at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

Tom Wright scored after the hooter as the Brumbies claimed an important five-tries-to-two bonus-point victory over Fijian Drua in Queensland.

The win sees the Brumbies leapfrog the Crusaders and Blues. Both New Zealand teams won earlier in the day, but the Australians go back on top of the Super Rugby Pacific log.

Wright scored twice, while Cam Clark, Billy Pollard, and Connal McInerney also dotted down for the table-toppers.

Nic White and Ryan Lonergan kicked two conversions apiece for the ACT side.

James Slipper registered his 150th Super Rugby cap as the Brumbies claimed a comfortable double over the Pacific Islanders.

Onisi Ratave bagged a second-half brace to keep the Fijians in the contest. Teti Tela converted the first.

But the Australian’s experience and firepower in backs and forwards were too much for the inexperienced tourists.

The Brumbies kept Fijian Drua scoreless at the break as they took a two-try 12-0 lead in Queensland

Wright and Clark’s first-quarter tries put the capital team two scores ahead as the Fijians struggled.

Tuidraki Samusamuvodre’s early yellow card for a dangerous tackle cost his team a try.

Tela also missed a straight-forward 12th-minute penalty from almost in front.

Rory Scott, Andy Muirhead, and Rod Iona all went close before halftime, but the men from Fiji held firm.

Mick Byrne’s charges had their chances as well; however, poor handling and a dodgy lineout cost the tourists.

The Brumbies forwards assert their dominance with two scores from driving mauls to put the game to bed

Fijian Drua gained momentum after the interval, but the Brumbies matched them for points as both teams scored a converted try in the third quarter.

The Australians kept up their first-half pressure and made the opposition pay six minutes in.

Dan McKellar’s forwards had scored 18 tries from lineouts this season, the most of any team in the competition, and they added two more after the break.

Pollard and McInerney both scored from their team’s fierce set-piece.

An attacking lineout near the Drua try-line finished with Pollard claiming his maiden Super Rugby five-pointer from a destructive driving maul.

White converted from wide, but the opposition hit back immediately.

A sublime counter-attack from inside their own half saw the backs and forwards combined to set up Rotave down the righthand touchline.

Tela converted to make it 7-19 after 50 minutes.

Muirhead went close again but was tackled into touch. It did not, however, take long for the Aussie’s maul to claim another walk-over try.

As the game entered the final quarter, McInerney flopped over the whitewash from the maul. Ryan Lonergan added the two.

Frank Lomani’s blindside break set up Ratave for his second when the winger dived around a ruck to score in the corner. The conversion was unsuccessful.

McKellar’s men ran down the clock expertly to reduce the opposition to one last attack before the hooter.

A mistake, however, by the islanders saw them lose possession after Irae Simone’s counter-ruck.

Muirhead combined with Ollie Sapsford to take the Brumbies outside the Drua 22.

Quick ball was recycled to Hudson Creighton, who stepped inside and sent Wright away under the posts.

Final Score: Fijian Drua 12 (0) Brumbies 33 (12)


Fijian Drua
Tries – Ratave (2)
Pen –
Con – Tela
Drop –
Cards – Samusamuvodre (Yellow, 4′)

Tries – Wright (2), Clark, Pollard, McInerney
Pen –
Con – White (2), R. Lonergan (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2: Matt Kellahan
TMO: Oli Kwellett


Fijian Drua: 15 Kitione Ratu, 14 Onisi Ratave, 13 Apisalome Vota, 12 Tuidraki Samusamuvodre, 11 Vinaya Habosi, 10 Teti Tela, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Meli Derenalagi (captain), 7 Vilive Miramira, 6 Joseva Tamani, 5 Isoa Nasilasila, 4 Viliame Rarasea, 3 Samuela Tawake, 2 Mesulame Dolokoto, 1 Haereiti Hetet.

Replacements: 16 Tevita Ikanivere, 17 Timoci Sauvoli, 18 Jone Tiko, 19 Zuriel Togiatama, 20 Raikabula Momoedonu, 21 Rusiate Nasove, 22 Simione Kuruvoli, 23 Kitione Taliga.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Rod Iona, 9 Nic White (captain), 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Luke Reimer, 6 Ed Kennedy, 5 Tom Hooper, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Sefo Kautai, 2 Billy Pollard, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Rory Scott, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Hudson Creighton, 23 Ollie Sapsford.

Recommended for you

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Brumbies go top after beating Fijian Drua - Super Rugby Pacific - Daily Post Central

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.