Brumbies hold on to book Semi and end Chiefs run


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Brumbies secured their place in the 2014 Super Rugby Semi-finals when they ended the current champions reign, beating the Chiefs 32-30 at GIO Stadium in Canberra.

The Brumbies will have to wait until the end of the Sharks vs Highlanders match to find out who they will play in the Semi-finals.

If the Sharks beat the Highlanders the Brumbies will travel to Sydney to face Australian conference rivals the Waratahs. If the Highlanders win the Brumbies will face the Crusaders in Christchurch.

Back to back Super Rugby Champions the Chiefs fought their way back from being 22-3 down in the first half to level the scores 25-all in the 55th minute.

The Brumbies took the lead back seven minutes later after a line out maul which allowed Jarrad Butler to score the home side’s fourth try.

The Chiefs had a shocker of a first half and their difficulties started in the fourth minute when Tim Nanai-Williams was sin-binned for synical play.

In Nanai-Williams absence the Brumbies scored two quick tries taking them to a 14-3 lead.

In the 20th minute the Brumbies extended their lead with a third try by Jesse Mogg and the home side looked well on track for the Semi-finals.

However the Chiefs fought their way back into the match and six minutes from half time they scored their first try when Bundee Aki crashed over from short range.

Cruden’s conversion meant that the Chiefs trailed by 12 points a lead that the Brumbies held on to until half time at 22-10.

The Chiefs missed 28 tackles in the first half but the second half was an entirely different performance as by full time they had only missed another three tackles.

The teams exchanged penalties early in the first half before the Chiefs scored a controversial try by Tawera Kerr-Barlow.

Match referee failed to spot that Leon Power had been cleared out opening a gap for Kerr-Barlow to slip through and score and awarded the Chiefs their second try. Replays showed Power being taken out and the Brumbies protested but the try had been awarded.

The Brumbies hit back with Butler’s try to take them to a 32-25 lead which meant the Chiefs had to score twice to take the lead.

Five minutes from time Chiefs wing James Lowe sliced through the Brumbies defence but was cut down short of the line and was isolated. The Brumbies turned the ball over but conceded a penalty for not releasing.

Instead of kicking for touch or posts the Chiefs chose the scrum which initially looked to be an error. However they won the scrum and quickly sent the ball out to Gareth Anscombe who had just come on and he scored in the corner.

Cruden missed the conversion which could have levelled the scores and forced the match into extra time.

Three minutes from time Lealiifano missed a penalty kick but the Brumbies held on to the ball until the siren sounded when Matt Toomua kicked it into touch and ended the contest.

Final Score Brumbies’32 (22) Chiefs’30 (10)


Tries – N.White, R.Coleman, J.Mogg, J.Butler
Pen – C.Lealiifano 3
Con – C.Lealiifano 2
Drop –
Cards – H.Speight (48th min yellow)

Tries – B.Aki, T.Kerr-Barlow, T.Nanai-Williams, G.Anscombe
Pen – A.Cruden 2
Con – A.Cruden 2
Drop –
Cards – T.Nanai-Williams (4th min yellow)’

Match Officials
: Craig Joubert
AR1: Rohan Hoffmann
AR2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Scott Sio , 2. Josh Mann-Rea , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Sam Carter , 5. Leon Power , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Robbie Coleman , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements : 16. Ruaidhri Murphy , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. Allan Alaalatoa , 19. Fotu Auelua , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. Joe Tomane , 23. Pat McCabe


1. Jamie Mackintosh , 2. Mahonri Schwalger , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Mike Fitzgerald , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Liam Squire , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (c) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Bundee Aki , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 15. Dwayne Sweeney

Replacements : 16. Nathan Harris , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Nick Barrett , 19. Matt Symons , 20. Tevita Koloamatangi , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Gareth Anscombe , 23. Tom Marshall

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.