Super Rugby

Brumbies lose Coleman for Rebels




The Brumbies have forced into a reshuffle ahead of the Super Rugby match against the Rebels in Melbourne this weekend as utility back Robbie Coleman has been ruled out.

Coleman started last week’s match against the Bulls at inside centre and played the full 80 minutes. Following the match, the former Australian Sevens representative complained of stiffness in his hamstring and has been unable to recover in time for tomorrow night’s match.

Replacing Coleman in the match day squad will be Brumbies Colts U20s captain Jordan Jackson-Hope who last week represented the Australian U20s side on the Gold Coast against the New Zealand U20s. Earlier this week he was named as a member of the Australian side that will compete in the U20 World Rugby Championships in Manchester, England next month.

Born and bred in Canberra, Jackson-Hope has risen through the ranks of Brumbies juniors and Australian junior representative sides, before earning a development contract with the Brumbies senior squad this year.

Away from representative duties this year, Jackson-Hope has played flyhalf for the Tuggeranong Vikings in the John I Dent Cup and training alongside Brumbies playmakers Christian Lealiifano and Matt Toomua.

Jackson-Hope moves to the bench for tomorrow night’s match, with James Dargaville moving to inside centre, and Lausii Taliauli promoted to the starting side on the wing.

It will be Dargaville’s first start at inside centre for the Brumbies however it is a position he knows well, playing the majority of his junior and representative Rugby in that position. He also started four matches at inside centre for the UC Vikings in the 2015 National Rugby Championship. It will be Taliauli’s first Super Rugby start of 2016 after coming off the bench against the Highlanders and Bulls.

Brumbies (revised)

1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Rory Arnold, 5.Sam Carter, 6. Scott Fardy, 7. David Pocock, 8.Jarrad Butler, 9.Tomás Cubelli, 10.Christian Lealiifano (c), 11.Lausii Taliauli, 12.James Dargaville , 13.Tevita Kuridrani, 14.Nigel Ah Wong, 15. Aidan Toua,

Replacements : 16.Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Allan Alaalatoa ,18. Ruan Smith ,19. Tom Staniforth, 20. Blake Enever,21. Jordan Smiler, 22.Joe Powell, 23.Jordan Jackson-Hope* (possible Super Rugby debut)

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.