Super Rugby

Brumbies make one change for the Force


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has named a Super Rugby team with one change for Saturday’s final round match against the Western Force.

The Brumbies were beaten by the Blues last week and have opted to promote Ruan Smith in to the starting side to replace Ben Alexander.

Smith will run out in the starting side for his 50th Super Rugby cap against the side he made his Super Rugby debut for back in 2012. Alexander has been switched to the reserves list.

Smith will start in the front row alongside Scott Sio and Stephen Moore.

Moore will break Nathan Sharpe’s record for most Super Rugby caps for an Australian player when he runs out onto GIO Stadium on Saturday night.

Moore is currently equal with Nathan Sharpe on 162 career caps and will move into outright third on the all-time Super Rugby list with 163 when he takes to the field on Saturday night.

Rory Arnold and Sam Carter will line up in the second row while Scott Fardy has been named at blindside flanker after leaving the field with a head knock during the match against the Blues.

Jarrad Butler starts at openside flanker while rookie Michael Wells retains his position at No.8.

Tomás Cubelli will start at scrumhalf while co-captain Christian Lealiifano will start at flyhalf. Matt Toomua and Tevita Kuridrani are the centres while Nigel Ah Wong and James Dargaville remain on the wing. Aidan Toua has been named at fullback.

Aside from Smith and Alexander trading places, the reserves list is unchanged from last week. Josh Mann-Rea, Allan Alaalatoa, Alexander, Blake Enever and Tom Staniforth are the forwards on the bench while Joe Powell, Andrew Smith and Lausii Taliauli make up the reserves list.

Injured players Jordan Smiler and David Pocock both trained with the squad this week as they continue rehabilitation from injury. Joe Tomane was earlier this week ruled out for the remainder of the season due to a fractured tibia from a tackle during an appearance in club Rugby last weekend.

A bonus-point win for the Brumbies will ensure a spot in next week’s Super Rugby finals.


Scott Sio , Stephen Moore (c) , Ruan Smith , Rory Arnold , Sam Carter , Scott Fardy , Jarrad Butler , Michael Wells , Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c) , James Dargaville , Matt Toomua , Tevita Kuridrani , Nigel Ah Wong , Aidan Toua

Replacements : Josh Mann-Rea, Allan Alaalatoa, Ben Alexander, Tom Staniforth, Blake Enever, Joe Powell, Andrew Smith, Lausii Taliauli

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.