Super Rugby

Brumbies make two changes for Waratahs



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Brumbies Super rugby head coach Dan McKellar has named a team with two changes for the starting team for this weekend’s match against the Waratahs this weekend.

McKellar has selected Scott Sio at Loosehead prop, and paired Richie Arnold with twin brother Rory for the first time in Super Rugby, as the Brumbies go looking for the bonus-point win that would give them a chance of playing Finals football.

Sio will team up with fellow Wallabies international Allan Alaalatoa either side of the impressive hooker Folau Fainga’a in the heart of the engine room in what is sure to be a colossal front row battle with the club’s perennial rivals from New South Wales.

Blake Enever shifts from lock to flanker to compensate for the inclusion of Richie Arnold, with Tom Cusack unavailable, after the flanker suffered a head-knock in Hamilton against the Chiefs in Round 18. David Pocock and Isi Naisarani join Enever in the backrow.

The backline remains unchanged for the sixth straight game having crossed for a combined total of fifteen tries in that time-frame between them.

Joe Powell and Christian Lealiifano will continue to provide quick and decisive ball with the centre pairing of Kyle Godwin and Tevita Kuridrani creating ample space for the back three.

Leading scorers Tom Banks (8 tries) and Henry Speight (7 tries) are joined by Andrew Muirhead who has crossed for three tries in his last four outings, creating plenty of problems for opposition defences with his pace and electric footwork.

Co-captain Sam Carter meanwhile is recalled to the squad and is on the replacements bench where he is joined by prop Nic Mayhew who started the match in New Zealand, hooker Connal McInerney, prop Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin and flanker Lachlan McCaffrey in a 5/3 split.

Matt Lucas, Wharenui Hawera and Lausii Taliauli are named as the backline finishers as the Brumbies aim to get the win that would see them retain the Dan Vickerman Cup.


Tom Banks, Henry Speight, Tevita Kuridrani, Kyle Godwin, Andrew Muirhead, Christian Lealiifano, Joe Powell, Isi Naisarani, David Pocock, Blake Enever, Richie Arnold, Rory Arnold, Allan Alaalatoa, Folau Fainga’a, Scott Sio.

Replacements : Connal McInerney, Nic Mayhew, Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, Sam Carter, Lachlan McCaffrey, Matt Lucas, Wharenui Hawera, Lausii Taliauli.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.