Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Brumbies make two changes for Western Force

Ben Alexander will play his 10 Super Rugby season for the Brumbies

Ben Alexander will play his 10 Super Rugby season for the Brumbies

Brumbies head coach has named his team to play the Western Force in Canberra and made two changes to the side that will run out at GIO Stadium on Friday/

Prop Ben Alexander and flanker Ben Hyne will start their first games of the 2017 Super Rugby season in place of Nic Mayhew, who drops to the bench, and Scott Fardy respectively.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The fixture sees a return to the team for Hyne who made his debut against the Reds last season but saw his maiden appearance turn sour when he suffered an injury early in the game, curtailing his involvement.

Alexander meanwhile will make his 133rd Brumbies appearance lining up in the front row alongside fellow Wallabies Josh Mann-Rea and Allan Alaalatoa.

Blake Enever earns selection onto the Brumbies bench with Larkham opting for a 6-2 split in favour of forwards amongst the replacements. Enever, whose last appearance was in the second row in the Quarter Final loss to the Highlanders comes in for Isaac Thompson.

Otherwise the team is as is was for the clash with the Sharks with young half-back pairing Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera continuing their burgeoning combination and Kyle Godwin linking up in the centre alongside Australian powerhouse Tevita Kuridrani.

Up front the hardworking Chris Alcock and Jordan Smiler form a solid and dependable looking back-row combination alongside Hyne, whilst Rory Arnold and skipper Sam Carter form the second-row partnership for the twelfth time in the last fourteen Brumbies games.

The Brumbies enter the match with a positive record against the Force having defeated their Western Australian opponents on their last visit to Canberra, the 24-10 Round 17 victory in July last year.


1. Ben ALEXANDER , 2. Josh MANN-REA , 3. Allan ALAALATOA , 4. Rory ARNOLD , 5. Sam CARTER , 6. Ben HYNE , 7. Chris ALCOCK , 8. Jordan SMILER , 9. Joe POWELL , 10. Wharenui HAWERA , 11. James DARGAVILLE , 12. Kyle GODWIN , 13. Tevita KURIDRANI , 14. Henry SPEIGHT , 15. Aidan TOUA

REPLACEMENTS : 16. Robbie ABEL , 17. Nic MAYHEW , 18. Leslie LEULUA’IALI’I-MAKIN , 19. Blake ENEVER , 20. Tom STANIFORTH , 21. Lolo FAKAOSILEA , 22. De Wet ROOS , 23. Andrew SMITH

Exit mobile version