Brumbies second half downs Sharks


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

This was a live score update – Report to follow.




The Brumbies will be positive about their prospects in this one. They are ninth on the log but last week’s win against the Blues will have given them a boost. The did however suffer a blow in losing Stirling Mortlock.

Saturday April 19
Venue: Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand), Grant MacNeill (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Brendan McCormick (Australia)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Brumbies 7, Sharks 6
In Canberra: Played 7, Brumbies 5, Sharks 2
Last season: Round 8, March 24 2007: Brumbies 21-10 Sharks at Absa Stadium, Durban


Match details


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


11.00: The Brumbies gave away a penalty so  Rory Kockott took the kick and slotted it.


21.00: Francois Steyn takes a chance tries for a drop goal and gets it.


26.00: The Brumbies get a penalty so they opt for the lineout. The Sharks also get a team warning.


29.00: Mitchell Chapman gave a penalty away for the Brumbies so Rory Kockott took the shot at goal but just missed.


33.00: The Sharks scored the first try of the match when Ryan Kankowski dived over the line.


34.00: Rory Kockott slotted the conversion.


36.00: Adam Ashley-Cooper picked up the ball from a Frans Steyn pass and runs the rest of the field to score an intercept try.


37.00: Mark Gerrard slotted the conversion.


39.00: Kankowski puts in the goose-step and passes to Francois Steyn who runs in to score a try for the Sharks.  


40.30: Rory Kockott snuffs the conversion after the hooter sounds for half time. It hit the post.


The half time score is Brumbies 7 Sharks 18


40.01: The second half is underway.


48.00: The Brumbies put together 18 phases and it ends when Ryan Kankowski is sent to the bin for 10 minutes.


50.00: Julian Salvi bursts through the Sharks defence to score the Brumbies second try.


51.00:Mark Gerrard  slotted the conversion.


51.00: Bradley Barritt goes off holding his shoulder and Waylon Murray comes on.


61.00: The Sharks gave away a penalty so Mark Gerrard took a shot at goal and slotted it.


66.00: Francois Steyn gets sent to the bin. Mark Gerrard slots the penalty for the offence.


69.00: Bismarck du Plessis gives away a penalty for blocking so Mark Gerrard takes the shot at goal and but misses from a long way out.


72.00: The Brumbies score a decisive try as Adam Ashley-Cooper dives over the line.


74.00: Mark Gerrard slots the conversion to extend the lead with six minutes to go.


74.00: Referee Bryce Lawrence comes off injured and Lyndon Bray takes over. It looks to be a hamstring for Lawrence.


77.00: The Brumbies give away a penalty so the Sharks go for posts the secure the  losing bonus point. Ruan Pienaar slots it.


80.01: The Siren goes for full time. There is time for a penalty – the Sharks run it. The Brumbies steal it and send it out.


The final score is Brumbies 27 Sharks 21


Report to follow.





Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (2) ,Julian Salvi

Pen – Mark Gerrard (2)

Con – Mark Gerrard (2)



Tries – Ryan Kankowski, Francois Steyn

Pen – Rory Kockott, Ruan Pienaar

Con –
Drop – Francois Steyn
Cards – Ryan Kankowski (yellow) , Francois Steyn (yellow)




1-15 Nic Henderson, Saia Faingaa ,Guy Shepherdson , Alister Campbell , Mark Chisholm , Mitchell Chapman , George Smith (c) , Julian Salvi , Patrick Phibbs , Christian Lealiifano , Francis Fainifo , Tyrone Smith , Adam Ashley-Cooper , Peter Playford , Mark Gerrard

Reserves: John Ulugia , Salesi Ma’afu, Peter Kimlin , Stephen Hoiles , Joshua Holmes , Matt Toomua , Sanualio Afeaki , Ben Alexander ** (one to be omitted)


15-1- Stefan Terblanche; Odwa Ndungane, Francois Steyn, Bradley Barritt, JP Pietersen; Frederic Michalak, Rory Kockott; Ryan Kankowski; Jacques Botes, Keegan Daniel, Johann Muller (captain), Steven Sykes, BJ Botha, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Craig Burden, Jannie du Plessis/Deon Carstens, Albert van den Berg, AJ Venter, Ruan Pienaar, Waylon Murray, Adrian Jacobs.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.