Brumbies smash the Force and book play off spot


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

A hat trick of tries from Matt Toomua helped the Brumbies to a 47-25 victory over the Force in Canberra as the Brumbies booked a place in the play offs.

The Brumbies scored seven tries as they ran up their biggest points tally of
the 2014 season including three from returning No.10 Matt Toomua.

The result ends the Force’s hopes of reaching the play offs after their best
season ever in Super Rugby since 2006 when they joined the tournament through the Super 14.

The Brumbies victory pushes them up above the Chiefs and provisionally into
fourth place which pushes the Hurricanes out of the top six which ends their

The Brumbies could finish in fourth or fifth place depending on results and they could host the Chiefs next week in Canberra.

The result completes the line up of six teams that will contest the play offs although their final placings can change and who plays who will only be decided after the Sharks have finished their match.

The Crusaders host the Highlanders tomorrow which will decide who finishes on top of the New Zealand Conference.

The Stormers host the Sharks in the final regular season match and that result will confirm which teams will play next week as the Sharks could overtake the Crusaders.

The Force made the stronger start of the two teams by putting the Brumbies under pressure on their tryline through 16 phases but the home side dug in and defended their line keeping the visitors scoreless.

The Brumbies opened the scoring when Matt Toomua slipped over for the opening try in the sixth minute.

A series of penalty kicks from either side meant that the contest was a stop
start affair and in the 17th minute Jayden Hayward got the Force on to the scoreboard.

Brumbies lock Sam Carter split the Force’s defence which got the home side
into an attacking position and Toomua went over for his second try. His hat trick try came in the 55th minute.

Further tries to the Brumbies from Jesse Mogg, Joe Tomane, Tom McVerry and
winger Henry Speight followed as the Canberra headed for their first win in
the final round since 2007.

At half time the result looked beyond doubt as the Brumbies were leading 21-6.
They stretched that to 26-6 four minutes in the second half with the bonus point

The Western Force never gave up and even though there were eventually outscored
26-19 in the second half they scored three second half tries by Pek Cowan, Chris
Tuatara-Morrison and Zack Holmes.

The Force came close to scoring their own bonus point try as the hooter sounded
but referee Steve Walsh ruled that they had been held up.

The victory will give the Brumbies a significant morale boost ahead of the
play offs but they will have to wait a day to see who they play next week.

Final Score Brumbies’47 (21) Force’25 (6)


Tries – M.Toomua 3, J.Mogg, H.Speight, J.Tomane, T.McVerry
Pen – C.Lealiifano 2
Con – C.Lealiifano 3
Drop –
Cards – J. Butler (53rd min yellow)

Tries – P.Cowan, C.Tuatara-Morrison,Z.Holmes
Pen – J.Hayward 2
Con – J.Hayward, S.Ebersohn
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 1: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2: Andrew Lees
TMO:Steve Leszczynski



1. Scott Sio , 2. Josh Mann-Rea , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Sam Carter , 5. Leon Power , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Clyde Rathbone , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements : 16. Ruaidhri Murphy , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. JP Smith , 19. Fotu Auelua , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. Joe Tomane , 23. Pat McCabe

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ,6. Brynard Stander,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Ian Prior,10. Zack Holmes,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Chris Tuatara-Morrison,13. Solomoni Rasolea,14. Dane Haylett-Petty,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Oliver Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman,20. Chris Alcock,21. Alby Mathewson,22. Luke Burton,23. Dillyn Leyds/Sias Ebersohn

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.