Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Brumbies start Lucas and Slipper against Jaguares

James Slipper starts for the Brumbies in this weekend's Super rugby match

James Slipper starts for the Brumbies in this weekend's Super rugby match

Brumbies Super rugby head coach Dan McKellar has named a team with two changes to the starting line up to play the Jaguares at the Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Velez Sarsfeld on Saturday.

Lucas comes into the team in place of Joe Powell, whilst Slipper is selected ahead of Scott Sio as Head Coach Dan McKellar aims to win a third game in succession and claim a second win in South America, after defeating the Jaguares on their own turf back in 2017.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Brumbies have certainly built up a head of steam over the past fortnight with back-to-back wins over South African opposition, starting with the Lions at GIO Stadium in Canberra and following that up with an epic, backs-to-the-wall defensive masterclass to stun the Stormers 19-17 in Cape Town.

Man of the match in the latter fixture, Jahrome Brown, keeps his place in the backrow alongside Tom Cusack and Pete Samu with Slipper joined in the front row Folau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa.

Rory Arnold, who was immense in the win over the Stormers, tackling his heart out and scoring a crucial try, continues in the second row alongside Sam Carter.

In the backs, Lucas comes into the side to form a halfback partnership with skipper Christian Lealiifano whilst the midfield pairing of Tom Wright and Tevita Kuridrani are given further licence to shine.

Out wide, Toni Pulu and Henry Speight patrol the wings, Speight having made two try-saving tackles at Newlands, whilst Tom Banks, scorer of the third try of the afternoon in the Republic, remains at fullback.

Connal McInerney, who flew into Buenos Aires to join up with the squad after Josh Mann-Rea was forced to return home from South Africa injured, will be straight into the action, named as one of five forwards on the bench, alongside Sio and Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin as front row cover.

As last week, Darcy Swain and Murray Douglas are named amongst the finishers, both having contributed mightily to the defensive effort at Newlands. Powell reverts to the bench with Lucas starting whilst Irae Simone and Andy Muirhead round out the matchday squad.


15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Tom Wright, 11 Toni Pulu, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Matt Lucas, 8 Pate Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Jahrome Brown, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper

Replacements: 16 Connal Mcinerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Murray Douglas, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Irae Simone, 23 Andy Muirhead

Exit mobile version