Brumbies steal a last minute win from Lions



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Brumbies snatched a last minute victory to take fourth place in the Super 14 after beating the Lions by 28 points to 21 in Canberra.

The Brumbies led 13-7 at half time but a superb second half performance from Earl Rose where he scored two tries saw the Lions surge ahead.

As the match reached full time Christian Lealiifano scored a try for the Brumbies which was converted by Mark Gerrard.

Rookie flylhalf Christian Leali’ifano scored on a pass from a quick tap in the final minute of play.

The win moved the Brumbies into a semifinal playoff spot early in the 11th round, while the Lions remained in last place with only a win and draw in nine matches.

Brumbies captain and Australian center Stirling Mortlock put in a strong performance to give his team a 13-7 lead at halftime. Mortlock, who has missed much of the season with injuries, scored a try and had two penalties.

“It was one of the ugliest wins I’ve ever been involved with,” said Mortlock.

“We certainly didn’t make it easy on ourselves.” Earl Rose scored two tries for the Lions minutes apart in the second half to give the Johannesburg-based team the lead.

Lions No. 8 Willem Alberts was taken from the field on a stretcher after a heavy hit late in the half. His condition was not immediately known.

The full time score is Brumbies 28  Lions 21





Tries – Stirling Mortlock,Mark Gerrard ,Christian Lealiifano
Pen – Stirling Mortlock (2),Mark Gerrard
Con – Stirling Mortlock,Mark Gerrard



Tries – Cobus Grobbelaar, Earl Rose (2)
Pen –
Con – Earl Rose (3)
Cards – JC van Rensburg (yellow)


Friday April 25
Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Referee: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Brett Bowden (Australia)
Television match official: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Assessor: Wayne Erickson (Australia)



1. Nic Henderson,2. John Ulugia,3. Guy Shepherdson ,4. Alister Campbell ,5. Mark Chisholm,6. Mitchell Chapman ,7. George Smith ,8. Julian Salvi ,9. Patrick Phibbs,10. Christian Lealiifano,11. Francis Fainifo ,12. Tyrone Smith ,13. Stirling Mortlock (c) ,14. Adam Ashley-Cooper ,15. Mark Gerrard

Reserves : 16. Saia Faingaa,17. Salesi Ma’afu ,18. Peter Kimlin ,19. Ben Alexander,20. Stephen Hoiles,21. Joshua Holmes,2. Sanualio Afeaki.


Earl Rose, Louis Ludik, Jannie Boshoff, Walter Venter, Rayno Benjamin, Jaco van Schalkwyk, Jano Vermaak, Willem Alberts, Joe van Niekerk , Cobus Grobbelaar (capt.), Gerhard Mostert, Dewald Senekal, JC van Rensburg, Willie Wepener, Heinke van der Merwe.

Reserves :Ethienne Reynecke, Eugene Maqwelana, Franco van Merwe, Wilhelm, Koch, Chris Jonck, Rudi Vogt, Dusty Noble.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.